Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

30 reasons to stay smoke free
2004-09-21, 9:58 p.m.

Day 30 Thirty reasons I want to stay smoke free

1. My clothes don't smell

2. It will raise my energy level

3. Food will taste better

4. I want healthier teeth & gums. Smoking is a leading cause of gingivitis

5. My kids will appreciate it

6. My hair won't smell like smoke

7. I won't tire as easily

8. I'll save money ($100 every 25 days)

9. I'll live longer (appears to be 10 minutes per cigarette not smoked)

10. I'll have whiter teeth (unless the coffee does them in)

11. I want the challenge of doing it for another day

12. I don't want bronchitis

13. I don't want asthma

14. I'll stop hacking & wheezing

15. Co-workers will appreciate the increase in productivity

16. My dentist bills will go down.

17. My circulation will improve.

18. Family history already has me at risk for diabetes

19. It will lower my blood pressure

20. I'd rather eat an apple

21. Now is better than never

22. I've already practiced a few times

23. I can shut my car window when it rains

24. My doctor will be thrilled

25. It's better for bow hunting

26. I want to live longer than my dad did (only 58, I'm already 45)

27. My skin will look healthier

28. I owe it to myself and my family

29. I won't be an outcast at group gatherings

30. If I stay smoke free today, it will preserve all the progress I've made so far.

That's right, no bitching & whining today. It's the 30 day anniversary party. One month - no cigarettes. Couldn't imagine getting this far before - now I'm here. Dentist visit next week. I'll be able to tell him I've gone 5 weeks. He's been bugging me about quitting for 10 years. Now I can harass him about his cigars when he golfs.

Doctors appointment Oct. 14. That will be day 54 or so. It will be a thrill to tell my doctor that I've gone that long. Do need to get my blood pressure checked for real. I've done it at work in one of the little automatic machines like in the grocery store. I consistently get 145/95 - even after sitting for 10 minutes or so. Even as recently as a year ago I was only in the 135/80 range. I think there's some changes in store - diet, medicine, both, something.

Got a shocker for you, but I already said no whining today.

30 days down, big reveal tomorrow.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks