Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

It WAS the eye
2004-09-26, 11:26 a.m.

Day 33 It WAS the eye

I have no experience with hurricanes, so I can't really say what it's like going from hurricane to dead calm and back to hurricane in a matter of hours. But then, most hurricanes haven't met the wiff. They might get a lesson or two. as I feared, the hooch supply was replenished yesterday. I got home from bowling Thursday evening (did a little better, thanks for asking) and she was already 3 sheets to the wind. She spent a good chunk of the evening on the phone trying to get palne reservations for her dad for xmas time. FIL is not so hot with the internet, and the wiff was stewed. I was finally able to help them get some tickets that didn't require midnight or 5am runs to the airport at either end (got noon departures and 5pm arrivals on both ends).

Suffice it to say, once I got through the plane reservation thing, I was on the wiffs case all night about her drinking that evening. She was pretty much in denial about the whole thing - even denied that she was drunk while she was barely able to stand there arguing with me.

I think there's a fine line between alcohol abuse and being an alcoholic. The wiff isn't doing shots first thing in the morning to control the shakes. She isn't in a constant state of inebriation. But most times, if it's just the 2 of us or she's alone, once she has a drink, that's it. No stopping till she's drunk herself stupid. Most times, going out to dinner with friends, she'll be fine. Every now & then, she'll "prime the pumps" before we go out, not realizing just how bad she's getting herself. Then she'll do something embarassing to herself or me and can't see it's the booze causing it. Usually I get the blame for not covering for her. She thinks people don't notice, then she cries a river because she has few really close friends. The drinking is driving people away, but she can't see that, or is not willing to admit it.

I think it's time to do an intervention, before she gets so bad it starts to affect her job. It's already bad enough that it's affecting the immediate family. Our youngest is home from college this weekend. He left last night because he couldn't stand the arguing. He as much as said so as he was headed out the door. (He was headed out to see some friends, but couldn't resist dropping a barb on the way out) The wiff said "You better go out and talk to him, he's acting like a baby!" I did go to and talk to him. Told him I was sorry about how the evening was going, basically apologizing for the wiff's behavior, and offered him my van rather than his car. He stuck with his car - but did give me an understanding look. He know's what's up.

When I got back inside, the wiff asked me what I said to him. I told her I apologized for how the evening was going and left it at that. There was also the big tussle over trying to program a remote, and a huge snafu over dinner. All caused by an inebriated spouse. Like I said, intervention time is coming, but I need to try and work it around her job, or sit down and have a heart to heart with her boss first. That'll be hard to do, considering she's his secretary.

33 days down, 2 days to catch up on


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks