Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Catching up again, days 34 & 35
2004-09-26, 10:33 p.m.

Day 35 Catching up again

Well, Thursday was a blast. Friday was at least some real fun. It was the day of our annual department (division) sponsored picnic. Had it this year at a local town park again, catered by Dinosaur Bbq. Pulled pork sandwiches, smoked chicken, smoked italian sausage, their fantastic bbg beans, - all real good picnic food. Door prizes, games, typical company picnic stuff I guess.

Supposed to meet up with the smoking cesation class instructor to get my fee refund, but she ran into some job security related kinda work at her office and needed to take care of that. So no refund Friday, but whe'll mail me a money order this coming week to put this thing to bed.

After Thursday evening, guess the wiff declared a night off for her brain cells and didn't have a driop to drink Friday. I was able to close out the work week maintaining my streak of smokefree days.

Saturday (day 34) dawned bright & cheery. I of course got up first, made the coffee, got the paper, which I still retrieve by passing through the garage. Non-smoking wise, I need to be in the garage so much, I just need to get over any smoking associations I have/had with hanging out in the garage. Wiff got up, had a wee bit of coffee, puttered around a bit. I went upstairs to get dressed for the day and the wiff takes off. She did return, made a trip to teh grocery store to get fixins for tonight's dinner. Both kids will be here, plus J, so we decided to do up some ribs, chicken breasts and a couple of sausages in the smoker. Toss in some dinosaur beans and Emerills roasted potato salad and you have some good eats. Even Alton Brown would agree.

After arguing about what I was going to do with my day - I usually make the beans. Not today. Wiff will do them wrong cuz she uses teeny knoves and chops up her onions & peppers too coarse. No one in the house likes them that way except her. That's why I always volunteer to cook, so I can get the veggies cut right. Don't get me started on her stir fry technique (more like slow boil the way she does it).

I managed to get the garden cleaned up for winter. Wiff did part of the yard, I finished. She sarts drinking about 1:00 - using a cup even larger than her normal mug.

3pm I start the smoker. 3pm the wiff is already stewed. Ahh, fuck it. No sense detailing another drunken evening on her part. We had dinner, which was nice except for when the wiff opened her mouth to talk, nothing sounding like English ever came out. But that's easy to ignore, cuz one doesn't have a clue what she's saying. I just try to make sure she's not on fire or reaching too far across the table to get something potentially spillable.

Soon as dinner was over, the kids headed out to a friends house to enjoy a little bonfire. Can't say as I blame them. Wish I could have gone. As it was, the wiff decided that she need to sleep around 9pm. She headed upstairs and left me in peace for the remainder of the evening. Ahh - wedded bliss.

Day 35 dawned bright & cheery. At least I did. Repeat of yesterday morning. Wiff was a little later than usual getting downstairs. Actually had a cup of coffee which is unusual for her when she's hung over. She's headed out to the Naples Grape Festival today with a friend from work (new building, no one knows her that well yet). I was suspicious, because her old college room mate lives in Naples and she is newly divorced/separated - at least some where along the process. The wiff & I used to hang out with her & her hubby for years, up until about 3 years ago. I think that's when it started to go south real fast on them. Anyhow - I was afraid the wiff might be headed there for some advice of the legal nature. But her buddy from work called to alter their initial meeting time a bit - so the wiff won't be spending a ton of time with the new divorcee (whom I love dearly - she's always been a good friend, I am just suspicious of the wiff's motives)

Ah well - time to run the youngest one back to school. Eldest will be stopping over for dinner (I think) before he heads back. Kind of a bummer, cuz the kids were at least a buffer. I will have to quiz youngest on his impression of his mother over the weekend, and start to formulate a little plan with him. I will have to isolate eldest & do the same. All in the name of preparing for an intervention. They need to know it's going to happen, and I'd like their opinion on the situation - just as a sanity check against my own observations.

Gotta go drive.

35 days down, 1 round trip coming up


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks