Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Spectacularly unspectacular
2004-10-04, 3:21 p.m.

Day 43 Yet another weekend update

What a spectacularly unspectacular weekend!! In the first drinking I've done in a while, I managed to suck down enough of the whiskey bottle so that the wiff & I killed it Friday night. Neither of us got too outrageous Friday night and she spent most of the evening speaking to me like I was a human being, not a piece of furniture.

Zipped in to work Saturday, got some stuff done - had it buzzing through my head all Friday night. Needed to unload. Remainder of Saturday was spent doing an impersonation of a vegetable. Weather was lousy, so no outside work to do. Inside is pretty well caught up, especially with only two of us there to mess things up. I honestly do not recall what we watched on TV Saturday night. Did make some nice Fettucini with prosciutto in cream sauce for dinner. Had a hankering for the Minestrone out of a favorite Italian cookbook, but needed more time to cook it. Opted for this pasta dish instead.

Most importantly - no smoking for me. No booze for the wiff.

Sunday - slept in again. Two days in a row the wiff has gotten up before me. Stocking up on sleep in preparation for deer season I hope.

Did the Sunday paper thing, ads & all. Helped put together a grocery list and headed to the store. Plan was to beat all the church-goers who always seem to show up between 11 & 12 on Sundays. Love to get in the check out line as all the folks dressed up in their Sunday go to meeting clothes stroll in. I can understand going to church on Sunday. It isn't necessarily for me, but I can see people wanting to go. Suckers. But going grocery shopping after church, with the whole clan in tow? Man, that just makes the store crowded and noisy. Gets me all cranky and ready to run people over - especially the ones that stop to chat in the middle of the narrowest aisles. One of these days, I'm going to cream someone that just stops in front of me. I can always blame the brakes, or lack there of, on my cart.

There's a whole rant waiting to happen back there. I'll add that to my list of potential future topics. Really ought to do a good treatment on that one. I get all worked up about how people travel (or not) in public areas. The wiff thinks I'm being unreasonable, but that's only because she's been the victim of my wrath a time or three.

So anyhow - we all survived our trek to the grocery store. Wegmans, by the way. We happen to live exactly where Wegmans got started. So all the folks in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia (I think) and Maryland that think Wegmans is just the best thing that ever happened to grocery stores? We've been shopping there for 40+ years now. Better watch out. Wegmans wants to take over the whole north east in the next 10 years.

Got the goodies to make my Minestrone soup. And food enough to survive another 2 weeks. Cooked up the soup after the debacle that was

Suffered through another Buffalo Bills game. Another close one. Game was much closer than the final score wuld have you think. The defense is going to get very pissed at the offense soon. Very soon. At least the special teams delivered this week. That almost bailed the offense out. But only almost.

My fantasy teams didn't fare so well either. 1 definitely lost, 1 will definitely win, another needs 66 points out of 2 running backs and a kicker in monday nights game. I have Priest Holmes and Jamal Lewis (Curtis Martin too, but I benched him yesterday) and Baltimores kicker in action tonight. All I need is 120 yds and 3 TD's (or 180 yds & 2 TDs') out of each of them, plus a field goal and 3 PAT's out of Stover. If that happens, it woyld qualify as a miracle comeback. QB & TE had solid days - nothing spectacular. WR's fell way short of what was needed (one fell short of 0 points, actually got a -0.2) and my defense? 0 points. Opponents defense this week? 22 points. Owie.

Design review at work today. Always my favorite way to spend the morning. at least I survived it, relatively unscathed. Finally starting to get a grip on just what is expected and what kind of questions will be asked. Spent the remainder of the day catching up on notes, emailing folks that need those notes, and running simulations on the next batch of code. Hour + simulations, all to see what 21 milliseconds of real time might look like. That's how I get to type up crazy long entries like this. Simulations.

Anyhow - no problem with any crazy urges to smoke yesterday or today. Even got past that design review without feeling like I had to fire one up just to survive. Starting to be able to pass butt cans outside of places without thinking about diving in and grabbing the longest butt there and firing it up. Good thing I stopped carrying a lighter. Good thing my van doesn't have a lighter in it. Still a little scatter brained, having a hard time focusing, especially on anything that takes a little thinking. Dumb, mindless crap I can do for hours. Whoopee.

Wonder what's for dinner. I never got anything out this morning, neither did the wiff. Hmmmm - betcha it ends up being spaghetti. We'll compare notes tomorrow.

43 days down. Over $170 saved


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks