Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

mini milestone
2004-10-06, 10:40 p.m.

Day 45 Another mini-milestone

At 7pm tonite I will have not smoked the same number of days as I am years old. Fahvergnugen. Some time back (couple, three weeks or so) I had not smoked the same number of days as years I had smoked (26?, 27?, 28?) Think I might even have mentioned it here. So, yeah - another mini milestone. Whoopee.

Finally did check in with my doctors office about getting bloodwork done in advance of my physical. Seems this doctor would rather see me first and determine just what she wants done, rather than trust my judgement. At least that's the secretary's opinion. But she (the secretary) suggested that I try fasting till my appointment, then I can have my blood drawn right after my physical. Told her I'd try - but it isn't bloody likely. My appointment is at 10:15, so no food, soft drinks, milk - nothing but water from 10pm the night before till I get blood drawn the next day at something like 10:45 or so. The only thing that bothers me a little about this deal is the utter lack of coffee in the morning. Cripes - I already gave up smoking. I need some kind of "ine" in the morning. If it isn't nicotine, then I'd really like it to be caffeine. Enough codeine and I wouldn't care at all - and I bet that wouldn't show up in a typical blood workup either.

So, things I need to ask my doctor about:

1.) Alarmingly high blood pressure - 145/95 as measured by our little instrument here at work

2.) where can I get a diet plan like I described before - meal planner, shopping list generator, calorie figure outer, all that kinda stuff

3.) Ummm - back on lipitor? what should i do with the 30 or so pills I have from 2 years ago? Flush them?

4.) Tingling sensation in hands/fingers. Related to quitting smoking or B.P.?

5.) Some dermatological issues - tiny, funky moles. Grow slowly, no recent changes in them, but still, but I'd like 'em gone. Funny little rash that shows up in the summer on my upper, inner thigh. Too bad it's gone already. It'll be back next year, I'm sure.

6.) Toenails - yuch. Need to see a podiatrist?

That's about enough input from my side. Considering my age, I wouldn't be surprised if she recommends a colonoscopy on top of the little prostate massage she gets to do. I think once you're over 40, the AMA is recommending that men get them every 10 years. Willing to bet the frequency increases by the time you hit 50. Wonder if they let you watch it on a monitor while they're sliding that thing through your colon? Not sure if it would be cool or disgusting. If it were disgusting enough it would convert right back over to cool. Hmmm. I might have to ask if it's possible. There is the whole anasthesia issue. Is one awake & alert for this procedure or not? Maybe they can make me a video of it. Heck - you can buy pictures of yourself looking like a fool on a rollercoaster ride, why not get the video of your colonoscopy? Something to show the grandkids someday.

Oh yeah - wiff restocked her hooch Monday evening. That evening started out pleasant enough, but as the booze starts to kick in, she gets cranky. Sometimes I think it makes her complain about everthing she sees - possibly a sign of poor self image & low self-esteem. Trying to find fault with everything else in order to pump up ones own self image. Hmmmm. Could I help to improve things by offering up sincere compliments and positive comments? I suppose it couldn't hurt - but how long can I keep it up? She ended up trashed Monday night, was trashed again last night, and now, is not remembering discussions we've had in the past few days. Last night, she didn't remember asking me what was on TV twice in 20 minutes. It is at points like this where I start to get really frustrated and pissed. Kinda coincides with the point where she starts repeating herself.

Enough. Not going there. Again.

Haven't had any serious urges to pick up a butt lately. Have been managing to avoid the place I bought most of my cigarettes. In the past 6 weeks, instead of being there at least every other day getting cigarettes, I think I've been there maybe 5 times to buy a gallon of milk. That's been it.

No trouble walking by ashtrays outside lately either, although I am starting to get really repulsed by the one the wiff leaves in the garage. At least it's in the garage and not the house.

Surprisingly enough, it's also been rather easy to walk by the smoke room at work. Have to pass by it to get to the rest rooms. It's ventilated to the outside, and must be shut down if the ventilation fails (happened twice in 3 years that I remember. Not too bad, and never in the winter).

Bowling tomorrow night. Finally bowled my old average last week - and I was kinda upset - missed some easy spares, made a bad choice on another. Now it's time to really start picking it up and shoot 10 - 15 pins/game over my old average even. The old body is even starting to tolerate the abuse and not complain so much the next day.

45 days down. Same as my age. (should be 118 days or so at my next birthday) Hasn't seemed all that bad. I'd highly recommend quitting to all my smoking friends.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks