Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Yet another bender
2004-10-08, 11:51 a.m.

Day 46 Another day, another hangover

But at least she got dinner started. Can't wait to see how lit she is when I get home from bowling tonight. She'll be unsupervised (like that matters) from when ever she gets home (4:30 - 5:00) till I get home (7:00). She can do a lot of damage in those two hours. Willing to bet her state will include the following conditions:

1.) Inability to focus (her eyes, brain long since gone)
2.) Inability to stand without wavering around like a flagpole in a hurricane
3.) Repetitively redundant with everything she says
4.) Will not choose what to have for dinner, but will complain what ever choice I make
5.) Will shut up so I can watch Survivor, but will act like a pouty 2 year old the whole time
6.) If not 5, then will utter "we need to talk" at precisely 8:13, thereby pre-empting the entire rest of the evening, afterwhich she will invite me to leave again.

Maybe I'll surprise her and call from bowling. If she sounds somewhat sober, maybe we could meet at Applebees or even Pineapple Jacks. Either of those options has a real possibility of impacting Survivor. Got my fingers crossed.


Day 47 Damage assessment

The update: Called from bowling. No interest in meeting anywhere for dinner, suggests I come home and eat leftovers. Since I am the King of leftovers, I don't see this as a necessarily bad thing. We do have some tasty sauce & spaghetti hiding in the fridge. I ask her what she's having for dinner and she said something about having had a bowl of cereal (this is at 7pm. hmmm). Over the phone, couldn't be too sure of her blood alcohol level. Cell phone, out doors, traffic, breeze - sound quality not all that great, I'm pleased just to be able to hear anything at this point.

At home - got to watch Survivor. In relative peace with the wiff watching as well. So I missed on predicting both 5 & 6. However, items 1 - 4? Nailed 'em.

For #4 - wiff complained when I declined her offer to add leftover beans & rice to my paste sauce. I don't know for sure, but I'm pretty sure beans & rice aren't normal pasta sauce ingredients. Still not convinced she had any cereal, but I can confirm she had some pretzels & dip during Survivor. Great dinner.

#3 Got some news from an old neighbor of ours that one of their kids was getting married. Of course, the wiff had to drunk dial her to get the news. I heard all the details at least 3 times inside of 30 minutes. I am now positive that the bride lives in New York City, her parents are in California and Jeremy is still here going to RIT finishing up his Masters. No clue where the wedding will be. Like any of that actually mattered to me, but I had to be polite & listen. Can't have the wiff thinking that my life doesn't hang in the balance on every word that comes out of her mouth. (Hope the wedding is in California. Then if we're invited, we can understandably decline and just send them a check for a wedding present. If it's local, I'm screwed.)

#2 - Happened almost anytime after I got home. Movements were slow & studied - reminiscent of a tortoise or sloth. You could see the gyro's struggling to keep her erect when trying to stand still. Somehow it was easier to maintain stability during the dynamics of walking/stumbling vs. standing still.

#1 - Focus?? visual, mental, geometric, didn't matter. Kinda surprised she stayed to watch Survivor. Pretty sure it was a struggle to see the TV. She did finally succumb and head upstairs at 9:00. By 9:05 I had to turn up the volume on the tv to drown out her snoring. And she says I'm bad!

Should have added another - the inability to speak English, in tandem with the inability to recognize that ones verbal capacity has taken a hit. However, through it all she will maintain her assertion that she isn't drunk. Not even a little buzzed.

So that's what Thursday night was like. Very similar to Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday. But 4 in a row is very unusual for her. You'd think that maybe she'd take a break tonight. Maybe she will, and I can get all drunk & disorderly on her for a change. See how she likes it. Somehow, I think my getting drunk, or even drinking just re-inforces her belief that it's ok for her to do it. She just doesn't know how to figure out when to quit.

Can't wait to see how the weekend goes. Maybe I'll just come in to work instead.

47 days done as of tonight. Matches my old army unit - 47th Combat Support Hospital. Might be an entry in that some day.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks