Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Hello Deer
2004-10-20, 2:22 p.m.

Day 55 Hello Deer

Saturday started out rather ominous. Got up plenty early. Had my coffee & packed some to go. Had most of my stuff ready the night before, just had to remember a few things. Which I did, after 3 trips back into the house to get them all. Finally get on the road for the 10 minute drive to my mom's, where I do the majority of my hunting. About 5 minutes into the ride, I find out the road I'm on is closed about a 1/4 mile before the turn-off I need to take. This forces me to back track 3 or 4 miles, then take a different bridge over Black Creek. Probably adds 20 minutes minimum to my drive.

Anyways, I finally get there. Late. Already more light than I'd like - even though it's at least 45 minutes before official sunrise. Get all suited up and head out back. I have maybe a 1/4 mile walk to the stands I want to use this day. As I'm walking along the edge of a field, I peek off to the south east a bit, towards where the field opens up after turning past the woods. As I peer across the corner of what used to be an apple orchard, I spy the silhouettte of a doe in that field opening. She hasn't spotted me yet, but it's still too early to think about getting a shot at her. My mission is to not spook her. Another hunter has a stand in a hickory tree about 40 feet from where I'm standing. He's not in it at the moment, but if he were, he'd have a 20 yard shot at this doe. What I don't want to do is blow this guys stand location with this doe. If she gets scared too bad, she'll never be back and I'll have ruined a potential quarry for this guy.

Bottom line - this doe has me trapped for a 1/2 hour before she finally ambles off and I can get to my stands without spooking her.

Notice several things as I tip toe throuogh the woods. First, there's a lot more standing water than there has been the last 4 - 5 years. No doubt due to the rain we recieved from all the hurricane remnants that have blown through here in the last month or two. Second - the leaves are turning later this year. Still a lot of leaves hanging, will definitely affect shooting lanes. Third - there are a boat load of deer tracks through here.

Finally get to my first stand. Easy climb. Haul up my bow & gear. Settle in to wait. After an hour or so, I get up and stretch some, do some slow turns on the stand. What happens next is a real bummer. I hear a very loud CRACK come from one of the joists of the stand. Not good. I sit again, to take my weight load off the floor. Gather up my stuff, clip it to the haul line and lower it to the ground. Then I get my own self out of the stand. From the ground I can see what is damaged. Fixable, but I'll have to haul in a fresh piece of lumber, power drill, and some form of ladder. Later though.

I go to my second stand. Doesn't have permanent steps - I have to screw in the lower four steps in order to reach the upper ones. Finally get situated in the second stand. Situated enough that I grab my book and start reading. Have a cup of coffee. Eat an apple. Read some more. It's now approaching 10am. While reading, I spy some movement out of the corner of my eye off to the right. Slowly put my book down and look - it's a nice little 4 point buck. Snuck right up on me. He's only about 25 - 30 yards off - in shooting range, but there's too much vegetation and no clear shooting lanes in his immediate direction. Besides, he's only 1 1/2 years old, barely started growing antlers. Decided not to mess with him and just leave him be. Again, main objective is to not scare the deer off. Easy to do - I just pick up my book & read some more.

About 11 I decide it's time to head home and grab some lunch. Also need to help out with chores a bit before the afternoon session.

Round about 3:30 I head out again. Get all suited up and head back. As I approach the old orchard where I saw the doe in the morning, I really slow down, step very lightly and keep alert. Good thing. At what I estimate at about 15 yards into the old orchard a deer pops up. I immediately drop to my knees. Now the deer & I can't really see each other. The growth at the edge of the orchard/woods is 3 - 4 feet tall and is providing me some excellent cover from the prying eyes of the deer. Even the wind is helping - it's actually cutting across - no chance the deer will wind me.

I can see the deer moving around in this little thicket. He seems to be trying to figure out if I am a threat. So far though, I haven't even twitched a muscle after my initial drop. I did, however, have an arrow knocked and ready to go. Usually do on the walk out. One just never knows. After a couple of minutes of bobbing & weaving, foot stomping and pacing back & forth, the deer actually appears to lay back down again. I start entertaining thoughts of maybe getting a shot at this guy. From what I saw while he was trying to check me out, he appeared to be a modest sized 8 point - certainly a shotable deer - even on the first day. After a 5 minute wait, the deer rises and starts to head off to my left. Just as he enters a bit of a clear area, I rise up at full draw, locate the deer and my 15 yard pin. Get the two aligned, wait for the fore leg to move ahead and open up the lungs - release. Too bad the deer was only 10 yards away. The arrow hits high, apparently severing the spinal column. The deers hind quarters appear paralyzed. I drop back down, knock another arrow. Wait for the deer to settle down some. I circle off to my right, gain a clear shooting lane, release the arrow. Clean lung shot. Deer done. 4pm first day of bow hunting.

Now the hard part. I locate all arrows & broadheads, have all sharps accounted for. Field dressing goes without incident. Called the wiff, gave her the good news. Called both kids, shared the joy. They know that hunting area very well, even hunted it with me for a few years before they left for college. Then I called my mom. Told her about the deer, and checked to see if her wheelbarrow was in working order. It was. I hauled my bow & back pack all 200 yds back to her back yard shed, dropped off my gear, grabbed the wheelbarrow. Headed back out, loaded up Mr. Deer (heavy little sucker - maybe 140 - 150lb dressed), picked up my camos and headed in. Finally settled in at my mom's right around 5. Got the requisite pictures, loaded the deer in the van, had a celebratory beer, chit chatted for a bit than high tailed it before my mom's dinner guests arrived. They didn't really need to see me all bloodied up from gutting & hauling around that deer.

Made it home, got Mr. Deer hung in the garage. Have a pulley mounted up in the garage rafters. Makes raising the deer easy. However, it's rather difficult to suspend a mature deer with one arm while trying to tie off the rope with the other. Ugly, a bit low, but hung. First guy in my neighborhood to have a deer hung. By a long shot I'd imagine.

Too bad I quit smoking. A celebratory cigarette would have been fantastic while I was waiting for the deer to pass. Good thing I had my cell phone and could call people and talk to them.

55 days down, 1 deer down too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks