Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Butcher, Baker, Candlestick maker
2004-10-20, 4:45 p.m.

Day 57 - Bucher, baker, candlestick maker

What a crazy day. Decided to take the afternoon off from work. Went home, had a bite to eat for lunch. Then started the process of butchering Mr. Deer. Had him skinned, quartered, back straps & tenderloins out and rack removed before the wiff got home. Flanks, neck meat, various assorted bits & pieces all gathered and on ice, along with front & hind quarters. Started cleaning up the cuts, rinsing off hair, trimming fat & sinew and final bagging. All that standing & knife work took it's toll. By dinner time I was ready to drop. So I did.

It's great how staying busy like that keeps my mind off smoking. Used to be I'd stop what I was doing just to get in a smoke break. Now I can keep working and wrap up a little sooner.

Good weekend at Fantasy Football. 2 of my 3 teams won - one in spite of me leaving 40 points on the bench. Lucky my opponent was hobbled by bye weeks for some of his players. This weeks opponents aren't afflicted with the bye week problem. Ought to be much better, closer matches. Got a good chance of sweeping all three matches this weekend. That'd be a first I think.

57 days down - Heinz has nothing on me


Day 58 - Charcuterie 101

Google that one!! Actually, Charcuterie is the art of sausage making. The wiff & I made our first attempt at sausage making last night. Hit up a spice wholesaler at the regional market, got spice packets to do 10 lbs of hot Italian, 10 lbs of mild Italian and 10 lbs of breakfast sausage for $6.50. Great deal when you consider what Cabelas, Gander Mountain and Dicks are charging for their spice packs. Taking advantage of hunters desperate to do something with their meat (not THAT!). Did have to break down and get a bratwurst pack at Gander Mtn. Not sure just what we were going to do, so I wanted to be prepared for almost anything.

Now, we have 10 lbs of hot Italian sausage in the freezer. The whole process went pretty well. The actual stuffing of the casings took a little learning - how much resistance to provide to get a nice full casing with out bursting. Had a couple of rips & tears, but those aren't disasters. Did have a bit that wouldn't fit in the casings, so I grabbed a skillet and fired it up. I am pleased to say it tasted very good. About 1/3 pork butt, 2/3 venison. Turned out to be a nice lean mix, but not overly dry. I'm sure it will be delicious on it's own, or included in spaghetti or pizza. Not very hot either, but that's only my opinion. For most normal humans it's probably plenty spicy.


Day 59 - Sage advice

As I type this up during Wednesday, day 59, I am looking forward to doing up a batch of breakfast sausage tonight. Initial plans are to bag it up bulk style, but if I can find some of the smaller casings, maybe we'll do it up link style. I'm just thinking though - 10 lbs of little mini links. That's a whole lot of little sausages. Maybe I'll find some of the 54mm or 70mm casings and we can make those little patties rather than the little links. Of course, I could save a few bucks and just pack it bulk. Except we need more quart freezer bags. I'm checking a store on the way home. Heavy duty Italian neighborhood. They'll have sausage casings. Maybe. Either way, I can still pick up some freezer bags.

Get the joke in the title? Breakfast sausage - sage - complete lack of advice in this poor excuse for an essay? Didn't think so. Better go hit up Wegmans for supplies before the wiff gets all worried. Hah. More likely she'll start without me. I just want to get finished before Lost is on tonight. Don't know why, but I've become attached to that show some how. Got to hustle. Just over 3 hours to go.

59 days down - $245 saved, almost 1200 cigarettes NOT smoked. Stunning facts.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks