Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Snow Bird one has landed
2004-12-27, 9:25 a.m.

Originally prepared for 12/21/04. Because I'm a lazy cuss, it's only getting entered now. Read & enjoy:

Day 121 - Enough with the Birthdays already

Really now. My mom's on Friday, mine on Saturday, the wiff's on Monday. Then we still have Christmas to deal with.

Still don't see the wiff quitting. She was thinking maybe while her dad was in town, which started last night. I counted 2 or 3 trips out to the garage for smokes. I know she was freezing her ass off - it was all of 1 (ONE DEGREE) outside last night right around dinner time.

Speaking of freezing ones ass off, the wiff's Dad arrived from sunny Florida last night. Flew in. His connection was through Reagan (National) in Washington DC. The plane was a smaller commuter type jet, but at Reagan all passengers boarded through a jet way. But here in Rochester, for some reason, this jet could not be fit with a jet way. To top it off, the jet parked facing back out to the runways. Now, all these tender Floridians had to leave the jet the old fashioned way, get on the groung, walk around the front of the jet and loop into the terminal. At 5:00pm, when it was all of ONE DEGREE. Of course, my FIL didn't bring a coat, or even a jacket with him. He was very glad to see the overcoat hanging over my forearm. Very glad indeed.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So now a wee bit of time has elapsed. I took some vacation time so my FIL wouldn't have to spend time up here in the tundra alone. Such a nice guy I am. Only thing is my FIL's Alzheimers is driving me nuts. Seriously. He's been diagnosed with "mild cognitive impairment". Can't remember that we've had the same conversation 4 times in the last hour. His doctors advise us to not correct him or remind him that he's repeating himself. It'll make him get defensive, paranoid and generally cause him to withdraw into himself. Is that so bad?? Kidding. Mostly. Will be glad when the wiff is off work later this week, just so we can split time with her dad. He's going to drive me around the bend pretty soon. And my wife is wondering why I didn't take vacation in between xmas & New Years.

121 days down - 1 mind left to save.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks