Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Everybody Loves a Quickie
2005-03-29, 11:35 a.m.

Day 219 Everybody Loves a Quickie

As the title suggests, this will be a quick one.

Starting to explore other classes at the Y, see if I can find a replacement for my favorite step aerobics class. Did a circuit training class last night. Combines aerobics, mild weight training, stretching and abdominal work. The aerobics pace was a little quicker than I'm used to, but the moves were very similar. That and the lack of having to step up madeit not too difficult to keep up. The stretches were pretty much the same as we use in step, with one or two new ones thrown in. Those new ones were very effective once I learned to do them right. The wieght training was pretty mild, some bicep/tricep work, but I am glad I used the 6 lb dumbells rather than the 8 lb ones. All in all - I think the step provides a much more rigorous work out and bigger calorie burn. The weight training aspects of circuit are pretty minimal, although the ab workout was pretty good. Need to keep looking though. There's a Step Combo class on Wednesday. Have to see how that one goes. Might be the tougher sort of class I'm looking for. Once I find some good substitutes, I'm going to hit up that Al-Anon meeting on tuesday nights. I think.

Last night during the abdominal portion of the program, the instructor for the basic step class was in the studio. She was getting set up for a cycling class she also does. Lucky me, I was flat on my back with my legs in the air as she walked by. She looked surprised to see me there. She's told us that her step class in only a basic one, and we should feel free to "graduate" to other more complex or rigorous classes, but I still feel like I was cheating on her by attending that circuit class. I'll have to mention it to her at tonights class. We ought to get some yuks out of that.

Need to sneak in a lap of the weight machines too. 60 minutes of step and hitting 6 of the weight machines for 3 sets each will get me to the first "level" in the FitLinxx program. Supposed to be some sort of reward. We'll see.

Time to run E back to Fredonia. Get to go home, grab some lunch, then hit the road. Usually about a 1.5 hour trip out, 30 minutes or so there then another 1.5 hours back. I just want to miss hitting rush hour on I-90 going through Buffalo. Tool booths just get everything all snarled up. Plus, I'll be back in time to do my aerobics & weights. Can't miss that.

219 days down. Round tripper to Fredonia coming up.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks