Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Nice Ride At Least
2005-06-09, 10:05 a.m.

Day 291 Nice Ride At Least

Yeah, so I got 2 out of 3, or maybe 3 out of 4. I just peeked back Wasn�t that good, ratio-wise.

The plan was:

1. Do dinner. Lately if I don�t, no one eats.
2. Get a bike out, make sure it�s oiled up & run able.
3. Select some literature to leave out & about.
4. Fix up a bottle of water.
5. Bike to bro�s house. If he�s not home, cruise the long way back home, but get home before dark.

Younger son got stuck working OT, so by 5:30 we knew dinner was going to be late. Seasoned up some steaks and let them sit in the fridge to absorb a little lovin�. But #1 was being handled.

Got out older son�s bike � gave it a once over. seemed reasonably ride able. Had to re-mount a pedal, but no biggie really. So item #2 � check.

Item #3 � Completely skipped.

Item #4 � Completely skipped.

Item #5 � Actually accomplished. Did a quick tour around our neighborhood first, about a � mile. Made some minor adjustments. C asked where I was headed because I had mentioned the possibility of riding to one of my brothers houses. At that point, I wasn�t really sure where I was going. (BTW, C mostly sober, but definitely drinking. It�s around 6:15pm) Ended up heading out of the neighborhood, headed south towards the airport. Rode the 1+ mile to the airport, got to see a jet land. Woo-hoo!. This was kinda sorta on the way to my brothers, if not a bit round about, so I decided to head over there anyhow. Probably another 2 miles to his neighborhood & house. Funny how many more hills there are when you�re pedaling a bike. The trip always seemed so flat in a car.

Got to my brothers, checked up on his wrist surgery. That all went fine, getting strength and range of motion back, bruising almost all gone. Chugged down a glass of water and headed home on a more direct route. Made it home around 7:45.

Once home, finished dinner prep & cooking. C was on the phone the whole time. Apparently drunk dialing anyone that would listen to her moan and groan about her father (again) Younger son got home about 6:30 � not as much OT as I thought he�d get. He helped out with cooking dinner, then he & I sat down to eat. C was still yakking on the phone, to disinterested party #3 I think. E and I finish dinner, put away dishes, etc.

Finally, around 9:30, C detaches the phone from her ear. During this marathon phone session, there have been no less than 2 additional drinks made (the 22 oz. variety) and at least 3 trips to the powder room. I think the whole evening involved at least 3 different people on the other end of the line. Would have been 4, but she dialed a wrong number and was so drunk she didn�t want to try again. At least she doesn�t know how to use speed dial. Those poor folks she was torturing would NEVER get any peace.

So � I really missed the opportunity to get some of the Al Anon literature out and leave it to be �discovered�. I think I was so wrapped up in getting the bike going that I forgot the next item on my list. There will be more opportunities, I�m sure. Except C can�t read anything without her reading glasses on, so she�ll probably never even read the titles of what I leave strewn about. Unless I pick pamphlets with large font titles. Not very subtle, but sometimes it takes a brick to deliver a message, I guess.

Been working on this same problem in some VHDL code at work for a month now. Older versions of the code would operate like they always did. Newer versions wouldn�t even boot up properly or display the correct version information (very basic stuff). Finally, this morning, I found an error in a configuration file. Explains why the new versions seemed to operate correctly in simulation, but failed miserably in system. Finding that error led to finding 2 others that were similar in nature. Somehow, in creating the new version of code, this configuration file got corrupted and destroyed some critical information. Sad part is, I found the error quite by accident. But at least it�s progress.

291 days down. Still hatching a plot.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks