Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Shorter colds & MRI's
2005-06-27, 1:40 p.m.

Day 309 still

It just occurred to me: Colds don't seem to last as long when you don't smoke. Only had 2 since I quit, so maybe that isn't really enough to base a conclusion on. But I'm positive that the worst of the cold was over in only 2 days each time. Maybe a 2 day lead in then another 2 days after the peak to finish draining. Some seemed to linger for 8 - 10 days back when I smoked. Another plus for not smoking.

Of course, I'm a little delirious. C kept me up with her coughing marathon last night. (From the cold she got from me, heh heh) Pretty sure I felt every single cough she cranked out. Between that and the heat - lousy night for sleeping. No wonder I skipped the gym this morning. Have hopes of getting in there tonight. Maybe I'll even take my swim suit and get in a dip after working out. Maybe I'll drag C to the gym with me. Bum knee, congestion and all.

Oh yeah, speaking of bum knee - C actually had an MRI done on her knee last week. Been something like 5 weeks now and it still feels bad after that little trip on the garage steps (due to a loose piece of carpet, NOT her blood alcohol level, so she maintains. I beg to differ). She mentioned that the orthopedic Dr. did an xray and said nothing was broken. C assumed that meant just a sprain. What she failed to realize is that X-rays only show good detail of very hard or dense tissue - like bones or calcifications. I mentioned that she'd be better off with an MRI, which is much better at soft tissue imaging. 4 weeks later she finally gets to have one. Orthopedic Dr. did mention the possibility of surgery to repair the knee. 3 weeks minimum off her feet to let the knee heal after the surgery.

Still waiting to hear the results of the MRI, so no clear direction to take for getting the knee fixed. If surgery is required, I hope they can get it in before September and the start of the school year. Otherwise, no way C will get it done. She's already talking about short changing the 3 week recovery. All for her job. I may have to break her right leg just so she's forced to stay off her feet and let the left knee heal. She's worried that no one will be able to survive without her at work. Hate to tell her that she's not as indispensable as she thinks.

Neither am I. Better get back to work.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks