Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Resolution Revolution
2005-12-30, 9:43 a.m.

Day 495 Resolution Revolution

I am: Too reactive. Need to be: more proactive. So I will: Get off my butt, anticipate needs and changes. Run to lead, not to catch up.

I am: Too often late to work Need to be: On time more (duh!). So I will: Change my morning routine. Rather than get up, go to the gym, come home, do breakfast, shower/shave/etc, I will streamline the routine, eliminate the trip home and figure out where to fit in breakfast.

I am: Too critical of many things my wife does. Need to be: More accepting and less critical of things that don�t really matter. So I will: Offer more heartfelt compliments for the good things and learn to bite my tongue and not do the rolly eye trick that signals discontent for things that don�t really matter (no matter how illogical something may seem at the time).

I am: Too �me� centric when in conversations with other people. Need to be: More focused on the other persons needs, feelings. So I will: Ask questions of them, rather than offer comparisons to myself.

I am: Too dependant on CRTs for entertainment. I need to: Wean myself off the internet and TV. So I will: Read more, actually have conversations with the wife (see 4 & 5), try to be more efficient with my actual computer needs (logging workout & diet data mostly), heaven forbid � do more home improvement type projects. Pick specific TV shows to watch and not just channel surf.

I am: Living in a pig sty of an office at work. I need to: Clean it up (again with the �duh!�) So I will: Get old parts/assemblies to resource recovery, sort through trade journals & recycle crap I�ll never read. That will cover 90% of the mess.

I am: Too aggressive when driving. Need to be: Not in such a hurry to get someplace. So I will: Do nothing. Slow, stupid and inconsiderate drivers will just have to get the hell out of my way.

I am: Spending too much time reading journals/net surfing at work. I need to: cut it the heck out. So I will: Only open a browser when needed for work stuff and limit any journal reading/updating to lunch time.

I am: Still 20lbs heavier than I�d like to be. Need to: Actually weigh 180 � 185lbs. So I will: Continue my 2005 diet & exercise plan. It�s worked so far. Just need to reset the diet goals to lose about 1lb/week, not 2lbs.

I am: Curious about my actual BMI and overall fitness level. Need to: Schedule an assessment with the Y�s trainer. So I will: Do it. It�s been almost a year. I have the original data. This could be way cool.

I am: Likely to forget most of this stuff. Need to: Actually remember these things and try to work on them. So I will: Actually post copies of this at work where I can read it (but still keep it private), possibly share it with Cindy (maybe she�ll do the same)

I am: Running out of ideas to list here. I need to: Really get my butt to work. So I will: Do just that.

495 days down.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks