Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

weight Lifting Blues
2005-02-28, 12:17 p.m.

Day 190 � Weight lifting blues?

Oh yeah � almost forgot to mention. Nearly 2 weeks ago took the wif to go see Michael Flatley & Lord of the Dance. Heck of a show. Even if you�re not into dance per se (like me) it�s still a great performance. The tickets were part of her Valentines day gift. Got her a little miniature tea rose too. I understand that the poor rose is now dead (or dying fast). Rose is dead, show has come & gone. Why even bother with Valentines day at all? Especially considering what I got. Here, let me show you. < > did you see it there in between the brackets? Didn�t think so. From the woman demanding we go to Cancun for our 25th anniversary next year. With the kids. Yup. That�s happening.

Anyhow � I�ve been pretty well behaved and been to the gym pretty regular. A typical resistance machine session (Fitlinxx) consists of 30 or so minutes of cardio work (treadmill, elliptical, stair master) then doing some reps on the resistance machines. I try to go when the gym isn�t crowded (like 5:30 am on weekdays, or 4 pm weekend afternoons so far) My current pattern is to do cardio + weight Sat, Sun, Wed & Thurs. Then I do a 60 minute step aerobics Tues. evening and bowling Thurs. evening.

In the weight sessions, I�m now up to lifting ~19,000 pounds total doing 3 sets of 12 reps on 6 different machines. Also have worked up to getting a little jogging in on the tread mill (5 � 6 mph w/no slope) then doing major hill climbing for 30 minutes followed by a little more light jogging & a cool down. Managed to crank out 400 calories last tread mill session. Problem is on weekday mornings � time is kinda tight so I want to pack in as much calorie burning as I can into a short amount of time.

All the work out data gets entered into the �Fitlinxx� system, where you earn points based on time spent in cardio, machines visited and total weight lifted. At certain levels, you are teased along with fabulous prizes (custom Nalgene water bottle, YMCA T shirts, even a fleece vest at one level.) The first reward level is at 15,000 points. After this weekends sessions I�m at 2,880 points, or about 2400 per week. I�ll use this to track my Fitlinxx points as well as weight and BP. Here�s a running total so far:


date BP weight Fitlinxx
2/10/05 132/88 256.75
2/15/05 139/93 254.75
2/21/05 136/86 252.25 763
2/28/05 127/81 252.00 2,880

I�m thinking I should hit 15k by late March/early April.

E stopped home this weekend with a young lady in tow. They were headed to Geneseo to watch their school�s hockey team (Fredonia) play Geneseo. Very nice girl � looks to be another budding romance.

Z�s girlfriend stopped over this weekend as well. Turns out Z�s girlfriend & E�s new girl were bestest buddies in high school. The 4 of them also all worked together at 6 Flags a couple of summers ago, so the group already has quite a history. I should probably start getting very scared.

Back to the grind.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks