Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Hallucinations
2006-01-17, 3:02 p.m.

Day 513 Hallucinations

I seriously smell cigarette smoke as I�m sitting here in my cubicle, trying to work. Our actual smoke lounge is probably 250+ feet away, through 2 sets of closed doors. That room also has an exhaust fan installed, so if the fan is working (it has failed in the past), we shouldn�t be smelling any nasty tabacky. Personally, I think it�s all in my head � just the nicotine trying to talk shit to me. I�ll just turn one of my deaf ears to it.

Football season is mostly over, The NHL hosed themselves by getting OLN to be their �official� channel, Survivor and Amazing race are over again (for now), so TV pretty much sucks right now. Wednesday nights are cool (love me some Lost), Thursdays I don�t care too much cuz I bowl, and Tuesdays are excused cuz I do the aerobics thing. But Monday night? Ouch. Even SU wasn�t very entertaining on Big Monday. Watching them get their ass handed to them doesn�t rank very high in the entertainment category.

Oh yeah � the new schedule. Pretty much sucked. Had my lunch ready. Had workout clothes, work clothes, gym bag ready to go (I thought). When I got to the gym, here�s what I learned: I left my work pass at home. Pain in the ass to get in without the pass. The part about shaving before I left the house? Forgot. My whiskers grow like they�re implanted in Miracle Grow, plus I�m kinda heavily whiskered. It�ll be noticed. Bonus prize? Had a package ready to mail to son #1 (text books he�ll need for this semester His classes started this week.) Left it on the kitchen table.

Two of those beauties made it very necessary for me to swing by the house before I got to work today. Just for grins I checked the time as I left the gym � 8:00. Would have been 10 minutes late, but better than usual.

Got my pass, got the kids books. Stopped at the post office, used the little kiosk thingy to weigh my package (almost 7lbs � quite the package I�d say) and get a stamp for it. All without having to interface with a human being. Which is a good thing as the post office wasn�t officially open for business for another 10 minutes or so. For a measly $5 got the kids books on their way. Ended up getting to work 40 minutes later than I�d like. So yeah, the new schedule got blown out of the water pretty bad.

Next trick? Breakfast at work. We have a huge fridge. Could keep a gallon of milk in there just for me. I could smuggle in some old Tupperware or Rubbermaid bowl and store cereal in my desk drawer. Heck � I could even use the milk for lunches too. At cafeteria prices a gallon of milk runs about $8.00 At Wegmans, I can get a gallon of milk for $1.69 this week. This is starting to look like a good idea, based solely on what I�d save in milk costs. Plus, I could still brush my teeth at home at Oh dark thirty (when I shave too!!) and save the hassle of brushing at the Y. (Flossing at the Y yes, brushing, no)

I�ll do a couple of more trial runs, but the breakfast at work idea has merit.

What else, what else, what else . . . I got nuthin. Oh! Except to add that Survivor starts up again Feb. 2. I WILL be watching. 4 tribes, an exile island, could be another interesting run.

Another nice workout this morning. Missed a new personal best in average speed by 0.02mph. Consequently, there�s another nice chunk taken out of this years mileage target.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 205.0 on 1/13/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06
Next weigh in: 1/20/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 1/16/06: 54.90 (in 12 sessions � 5.02 this morning in � hour!!)
Miles with cooldown: 60.41
Target for 2006: 1000 or about 84 miles per month


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks