Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Relative Quickie
2006-01-24, 1:46 p.m.

Day 520 Quickie

Yup, made it to the gym yet again. Getting better at this morning routine thing too. Rather than leaving my gym bag in the downstairs closet and trying to remember to bring EVERYTHING down each morning, I actually got a wee bit smarter and started with my gym bag in our bedroom closet/bath this morning. End result was I didn�t have to make 4 trips up & down the stairs to get everything packed. Not that there�s a ton of stuff to take � just that I never remember to get it all on the first or second or third trip. Another plus to this method is that I don�t bother Cindy those 3 extra times, coming up the stairs, through the bedroom to the closet to gather what I forgot (again). Much nicer set up. Now I just have to get better about actually getting out of the house by 6. Thought 6:15 would work, but the resistance training machine usage is rather spastic and the locker room population can bog things down too.

Our YMCA actually supplies soap in the showers. Little dispensers are mounted to the walls. Squeeze the button and you get a handful of foam to work with. It�s ok � but you don�t work up much of a lather, and I�m not overly fond of the smell. So I�ve recently begun bringing my own in, along with a wash cloth. Get a much better lather & scrub. There�s an added benefit that was made apparent to me this morning. While I was in my stall, doing the whole rub-a-dub-dub thing, I could hear some poor bastard going from stall to stall (the vacant ones I guessed � at least he never showed up in mine) checking for soap. After a few futile pumps, you could hear a �hey, is there soap in ANY of these?� I still don�t know if there was soap in the dispenser in my stall. I�m just glad I didn�t need to find out.

Curious trip on the elliptical machine this morning. Definitely slower than yesterdays trot, but burned up more calories. Musta been because the resistance was held higher for a little longer. Been running in the cardio mode � trying to maintain a target heart rate. Don�t know if it�s the machines or me or a combination, but there is no consistency using this mode. Might just go back to picking a resistance level then just run along till I explode or something. Probably burn more calories and also jump start the improvement process. Except for the whole exploding part.

Work is rather boring lately, but I better go do some anyhow.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 205.0 on 1/21/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06
Next weigh in: 1/28/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 1/16/06: 69.47 (in 14 sessions � 4.85 this morning in � hour!!)
Miles with cooldown: 76.38
Target for 2006: 1000 miles, or about 84 miles per month


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks