Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Too Fast!
2006-02-20, 2:45 p.m.

Day 547 Too fast!

First I was urging the weekend to get here, now I�m surprised it�s over so soon. What really sucks is that I�m hardly able to enjoy my bachelor hood. Seems I�ve picked up a cold, thanks to my supervisor I think. I can do bursts of activity, then I need to cool it and recover for a bit or my head gets all woozy. Kind of like a cheap (real cheap) buzz.

Anyhow. Good to see Z & J some over the weekend. Gave me an excuse to fire up the smoker for some ribs. Also did a batch of cookies and sent half home with them. I may throw out the remainder of the batch, because they are like crack. Once I get started on them, I find it difficult to stop. This batch is based on the tollhouse recipe. Did a double batch of dough, but instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips I used 1 bag of peanut butter chips and 1 bag of white chocolate chips. Not that I was officially counting or anything, but between doing some early samples, then dessert and late night snack, I think I may be responsible for up to 9 cookies disappearing. I�m betting that�s going to make it real difficult to lose weight. But man, those are some good cookies.

Finally took a day off from the gym Sunday. Figured with as poorly as I�ve been eating, I needed all the workouts I could get. But yesterday, what with the kids being home and all, I just figured a break was necessary. However, cold or no, I still went this morning, Actually didn�t feel all that bad. This cold thing seems to be more in my head (for now), so breathing freely isn�t an issue. As long as one doesn�t mind breathing through the mouth � which is kinda mandatory when you�re running. Our gym uses an antibacterial solution that we�re supposed to wipe down the equipment with when we�re through. In an effort to keep this cold to myself, I did an even better job than normal wiping down equipment today. I just hope the cold virus is killed by the antibacterial juice we�re provided. Those viruses can be tough little buggers.

Wonder how Cindy is making out with her smoking while in Florida? She only took 1 pack of butts with her. She won�t smoke in front of her dad, but I�m sure she�ll find time or opportunity to wander off for a few every now & then. She�ll have to commandeer his car to go get more I suppose. Her fondness for Canadian whiskey may cause additional trips to the local market. Hope she doesn�t finish a whole bottle while she�s down there. Not my problems this week though.

Cindy�s dad is now in full tilt �gotta get ready to sell the house� mode. Unfortunately, with his Alzheimers, his organizational skills are not what they used to be. Kinda sucks to start on a task, then forget why you were doing something. End result is that a lot of stuff gets started, then completely abandoned a short while into the job. Cindy has walked into a house that is maybe 10% packed in 20 different 0.5% chunks, all done by a guy that can�t remember what he had for breakfast by the time he�s put his cereal bowl in the dishwasher.

I have to go pick Cindy up from the airport Wednesday night. I can�t wait for the unloading she�s going to do when she gets home (I�m lying horribly) She gets antsy about her dad�s condition when they�re 1200 miles apart. When they�re 12 feet apart for 4 solid days, she�s going to go into overload. Decompression ain�t gonna be pretty.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 202.5 on 2/18/06 (Yes, a second week of ZERO progress. Damn cookies.)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06
Next weigh in: 2/11/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 2/9/06: 140.55
Miles with cooldown: 154.87
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks