Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

*&@#$% scales
2006-04-06, 9:58 a.m.

Day 591 The Scales Lied

(actually scribbled this down Wednesday, 4/5, just couldn�t manage to post it)

Harumph. Checked myself on the scales at the Y again the other day. Must have been dehydrated or something when I first weighed myself on my return from Florida. Instead of losing a half pound, I now seem to be up an entire pound. Not going to fret it though. Neither of my last two weigh-ins was on my usual day. I�ll get to do that this Saturday. �Nuff �bout that.

The new game to play around here is called �where�s Bob going to live next?� The resolution of this game has all the potential of creating a rift in Cindy�s family (ie � Cindy and her brother Wayne). Problem is basically this: Bob, not being able to remember what he has told to whom, will say what ever it takes to make the immediate audience happy. When he talks to Wayne � it�s all, sure, living in the sticks is fine. When he talks to Cindy & I, it�s: �I�d rather live nearer the city�, or �I can�t stand living with all of Wayne�s (his wife�s actually) pets� (4 dogs, 4 cats, a prairie dog, turtles, rats, maybe a gecko or chameleon plus what ever else has wandered in out of the woods.)

Wayne wants Bob to live in a facility in a village near him � 30 miles south of the city. The biggest shopping experience nearby is a Walmart, culture comes from a 2 screen movie theater or the bowling alley. The nearest hospital is 30 miles north (actually only 4 miles from our house), and probably a 45 minute trip by the time any reasonable transport arrives. Plus, there�s Wayne�s ulterior motive of eventually having Bob move into his house, having his wife quit her job to become his caretaker and get paid for those services under the table. I DON�T THINK SO.

Bob went down to Wayne�s yesterday to �supervise� the unloading of all his stuff from Florida, then probably stay through the weekend. My biggest fear (Cindy�s too) is that Wayne gets him to sign papers to move into the facility out in the sticks without ever visiting any of the places nearer the city. We�ll be down there this weekend to start re-distributing stuff that was hauled north. We�ll see if that goes anything like

We also need to move on power of attorney issues immediately. Cindy & I advocate shared decision making, with any and all monies moved on Cindy�s AND Wayne�s signature only. Got to find some resources there. We know a lawyer or two, I�m sure they�ll help. For a fee, I�m sure, but maybe wee can negotiate a reasonable price. I�m just afraid that Wayne will try to ramrod everything through without consulting us at all. He can be quite the bully, and Bob is just going to parrot what ever he heard last.

�Nuff �bout that too.

Treadmill work will start Thursday. Thinking Monday & Thursday will be treadmill days, Tuesday & Friday for elliptical. This way, maybe I can get my legs ready for a 5K run without beating up on my feet too much. I have an old injury to my right foot that gets aggravated by excessive running. My whole foot tends to go numb after running too far/too long for an extended period of time. Kind of hard to maintain balance & stride with a numb foot. We�ll see how it goes. May even end up having to drop out of the May 13 race before even starting.

Kinda pleased that the strength training didn�t seem to suffer much from the short layoff (wooo � 6 whole days!) Last year, after a 10 day break, there was a noticeable fall off. I had to back almost every exercise down 5 to 10 pounds in order to complete 3 sets without breaking form. This time, no reduction necessary.

Time to sign off. Got to go research how to navigate this dilemma we�re getting into. I really, really wish my mother in law were still around. She feared Bob getting into this state, and she feared more him having to deal with it without her. Damn cancer.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 199.5 on 4/4/06 (Didn�t lose weight in Florida. Thought that was more likely anyhow.)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (looking harder & harder to hit)
Next weigh in: 4/8/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 4/5/06: 250.17
Miles with cooldown: 275.88
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks