Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Back on Track
2006-04-20, 10:48 a.m.

Day 606 Back on Track?

Took Wednesday off from any workouts, as per my norm. Also got no weight training in Tuesday just due to my running late for everything the whole day. Consequently, I was fairly well rested this morning and the results on the ellipticals reflect that. Again made it over 5.00 miles/500 calories in 30 minutes after 3 sessions of fairly pitiful efforts.

Good work out notwithstanding, I�m still kinda waiting for more unfortunate events to occur today. Nothing major, just weird, oddball events. Funky things started happening early today � like 5:30 early. Was loading my daily gear into the van to head to the gym. Realized I left my dress shirt hanging in the closet upstairs. Made the trip to get it. Headed into the gym � made a bee line for the locker room, thinking about I have no clue what. Poor front desk person had to come grab me and ask me to scan my badge to get in. Oops. This is something we all do almost automatically upon entering the lobby.

Get in the locker room, hang up my shirt and jacket, open up the gym bag to start getting all the necessaries out. NO GYM SHORTS. 2 towels, no shorts. Flippin� beautiful. No time to go back home and get any. Make the command decision to go through the Lost-n-Found bin. Come up with some ones lost swim trunks, claim to be a size �large�, done up in this funky pink & green print. Desperate as I am, they�ll do.

Upon donning the shorts, I find that the manufacturers definition of �large� is somewhat larger than me. Thank god there�s an intact drawstring in the waist. I cinch the things up, only to create a 4 or 5 inch bulge/gap/fold of excess fabric right in the belly button area. I tuck it into the drawstring as best I can and figure my t-shirt will camouflage it well enough. I just hope there isn�t a similar one in the back. Then I check out the legs. These things are like Daisy dukes. Daisy dukes for someone with a 40+ inch waist. With the added feature of torn side seams, from the bottom hem halfway up to the waist. Oy. At least the pockets are intact, so they�ll cover most of what might show from my own briefs (not white by the way. Green this morning � kinda went with the color of the shorts really) I�m just glad I never saw the original owner in these things. Could not have been a pretty sight.

On the elliptical I chose this morning, my back was towards the pedestrian traffic, so I never really noticed anyone�s reaction to my hi-stylin� gym shorts. In the weight training area however, especially on the machines for leg exercises, those side vents really became apparent. I think a few people were looking at me like �Dude, you can spend $80 a month to be a member here, how about dropping $10 on some shorts, huh?� Oh well. Once and done � provided I remember to throw some shorts into the ol� gym bag tonight. As for the shorts I �borrowed�? right back into the Lost-n-Found bin.

So � forget my shirt, skip past signing in to the gym, don�t bother to bring work out shorts � all before 6:30. What could the rest of the day possible bring?

Oh yeah - Serena will probably be stalking, err, oops, I mean �visiting� #1 son tonight while he slaves away at Wegmans just trying to earn a buck to put his poor ass through school (or pay his car insurance. What ever) I�m just hoping she doesn�t fluster the boy too bad. I mean, I warned him and all, but she did ask � �Is he armed against nosy, curious Italian females? - or something to that effect. I�m very interested in hearing both side of this little �Hi, How are ya� session. Could be quite amusing.

Better get back to work. That code doesn�t write itself ya know. At least not yet.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 195.75 on 4/15/06 (down 2 from last week!! Nerves??)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (getting nearer the target line again)
Next �official� weigh in: 4/22/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 4/20/06: 294.25
Miles with cooldown: 324.41
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks