Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Dug In
2006-04-24, 3:13 p.m.

Day 610 Dug In

Yeah. The hole. Done. About as far as things got there this weekend. Had plenty of dirt to spread around though. Got several (10 � 12) wheelbarrow loads next to the veggie garden, where we intend to install a new perennial bed this spring. Got another 20 or so loads IN the veggie garden, sorta holding down the last few loads of leaves I dumped in there. The remainder 30 or more loads, seriously) got spread around the yard, filling in low spots. Spent some time Sunday raking all that stuff flat.

Had the good fortune to come across a lawn roller too. So I spent another chunk of Sunday rolling over all the mole damage and my newly back filled areas. What a waste of time that was. Had finished up the rolling, cleaned up a bit, then returned the roller to H0me Desp0t. Picked up a few other odds & ends, came home and kinda laid low for a while.

After dinner, I noticed that I had left some tools out in the yard. Went out to get all my toys put away. Know what I saw? Not 5 hours after doing all that rolling, I saw an area that some industrious mole had already re-constructed to his own liking. Worst part? I actually saw the dirt rippling where he was moving. Lucky me was holding a shovel at the time. Took two steps, buried the shovel - and missed the little bugger. I think the vibration of my moving alerted him to the danger. I still went back to the shed, got a pitchfork and tenderized every square inch of every new tunnel he had built. Have no idea if I hit the varmint or not. Mercifully (for me I think), it was starting to get dark, so I had to satisfy myself with stomping down all the tunnels again. I'll be checking the tunnels again tonight, just to see if I "accidentally" skewered that mole yesterday. I hope so, because I have bad ideas about what to do next. Starting to feel a little like Bill Murray�s character in Caddyshack.

Day off on Sunday seems to have paid off. Well, if a day off consists of raking out a bunch of dirt and pushing a 200lb roller all over my yard. Made it 3 sessions in a row reaching the 500 calorie/30 minute/5 mile club. Also did some research and found out that even for an old fart like me, I can safely increase my heart rate up to 151 or so BPM with out doing any harm. I�d been keeping it around 142 for my elliptical workouts, but lately hadn�t really felt challenged enough. The last week or so, I�ve been setting it at 145bpm for the 30 minute run. Now I�m back to feeling a little more challenged, but still have a bit of a kick left at the end. Maybe I�ll stay here for a while, then start edging it up to 148 when it starts to feel easy again. Maybe I�ll even ask a trainer for a little advice too. No. Wait. I�m a guy. I can�t be asking for directions. Especially from a female trainer. That would be a disservice to my whole gender. The shame I�d have to endure!

Of course, I could ask my trainer (Pam) by email. There�d be no witnesses, I could keep my ticker from exploding (what a mess), and there�d be no shame for asking for directions or assistance. No witness � no crime, right? We�d be perpetuating the myth that men don�t ask for directions or help and all would be ell with the world.

The �What About Bob� sweepstakes are heating up. He�s been staying with Cindy & I the last week and a half. We�ve done his taxes, scheduled doctors appointments, and made plans to have his driving skills evaluated. He�s also decided that he�d prefer to live in a senior living community up here in beautiful Monroe County. This does not please all members of the family. Especially those that thought they were firmly in control 2 weeks ago. So things are getting interesting, but methinks we currently have the advantage. I just wish I didn�t have a need to know all the shit I�ve learned in the past week � especially about Power of Attorney and NY estate tax laws. I was much happier when I was ignorant.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 195.50 on 4/22/06 (Slow week. Damn cookies! I asked Bob to eat them before I got to them. Guess he forgot. Heh.)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (getting nearer the target line again)
Next �official� weigh in: 4/29/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 4/24/06: 304.54
Miles with cooldown: 335.68
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks