Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Ole, Mole
2006-04-25, 12:00 p.m.

Day 611 Ol�, Mol�

Not sure about the status of that mole. Went out last night and checked for any new tunnels. Absolutely nothing new where I did the tenderizing and stomping of the existing tunnels. However, there was a freshly disturbed area only 10 or so feet away. Small area, but fresh tunnels none the less. I was expecting a friend to stop over to borrow my rototiller, so I didn�t really have time to stop and play with Mr. Mol� last night. I am sure that we will find time to engage in another round of Whack-a-Mole soon enough.

Chatted a bit with my mom last night. She�s in this mode where she�s trying to get her will all set up, get power of attorney decisions settled and name who�s to be her health care decision maker in the event she�s incapable of voicing her opinion, etc. Not that she�s in a hurry to go anywhere, she�s only 67 and in decent health, she just wants to be a little more prepared than my dad was back when he had all his problems.

Anyhow � last night she told me that besides being executor of her estate, I have also stumbled into being her power of attorney, no if�s and�s or but�s. I really don�t expect any kind of a fuss from my brothers, because really, there�s not a lot to quibble over. The only area of potential disagreement will be her health care proxy. Being that mom is a Jehoovers Witless (no, my mom belonging doesn�t soften my opinion of that cult even a little bit), she is completely anti- transfusion, and what ever else the Witless ones deign to deem unnecessary. Now, a DNR order for an elderly person I can understand, but refusing routine life saving treatment? Boggles my brain.

Upshot of the whole deal is that I am not her health care proxy. I have a brother that currently lives in Tennessee and is also a Jehoover (and the person who got my Mom involved with the Jehoover cult to begin with). He�s going to be her health care proxy. All I asked my mom to do was provide me some basic ground rules so I don�t violate any of her cults conditions until my other brother can get himself plugged into the situation. And no, I didn�t call them a cult to her face. This time. I have in the past though. Both my mother & brother are fully aware of just how low an opinion I have of Jehoovers. That�s also why I tend to not get bothered too much when they do their door to door propagandizing. I think my mom has kind of warned them off me. Too bad really. I kind of enjoyed toying with them. In a �pulling the wings off houseflies� way.

So it looks like I�ll get plenty of experience at the whole power of attorney/executor of an estate job functions sometime over the next 10 to 20 years or so. I am certainly in no hurry to gain this experience.

�Nother nice work out this morning. 4th straight session making it to the 535 club (500 calories, 30 minutes, 5 miles � do the math). Did upper body weight training this morning too. Figured I�d been stagnating a bit on some of the weights, so I�m going to be increasing a few of the exercises by these whoppingly huge 2lb increments. Hope I don�t hurt anything.

Not so sure how the weight is going this week. In spite of the rather large calorie expenditure digging that flippin pond hole, I think all those cookies I suffered through for the last week (suffered I tell ya!) and our night out to a fancy, schmancy Italian restaurant Saturday night might have more than compensated. I�m thinking I�d be doing good to just stay the same this week. Plus, there�s the threat of maybe no aerobics tonight. Nothing was said to me directly, but events may be conspiring to keep me from my appointed rounds.

Wayne will be stopping by our house today to have lunch with his dad (that�d be �What about Bob�?). Bob wants to spend some time with him to explain his decision on where he�d like to live. Wayne is NOT a happy camper. Thought he had everything lined up. Power of attorney (split with Cindy though), Bob a captive guest at his house, and his wife all set to �cut back on her hours so I can take care of you�. Ugh.

I just hope Bob remembers everything he�s been telling us for the past week or so and doesn�t get intimidated by Wayne. That�s how Wayne gets what he wants � by being a big, loud-mouthed bully. Cindy and I see past all his blustering, but Bob�s confidence is kind of shaky, and he�s afraid of getting people upset at him. We�ve coached him to try and put it as not our house vs Wayne�s house, but more like his kids houses vs a place of his own. Wayne told me Good Friday and again last Wednesday that all he wanted is what�s best for his Dad. I hope he remembers that and LISTENS to his Dad instead of trying to tell him what to do. I�m almost nervous enough to go home for lunch today. I won�t, and I hope I don�t regret it.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 195.50 on 4/22/06 (Slow week. Damn cookies! I asked Bob to eat them before I got to them. Guess he forgot. Heh.)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (was getting nearer the target line)
Next �official� weigh in: 4/29/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 4/25/06: 309.74
Miles with cooldown: 341.34
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks