Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Whole Lotta Nuthin
2006-05-05, 11:51 a.m.

Day 621 Whole Lotta Nuthin�

Posted yesterdays meanderings just a bit ago. If you haven�t read about the big news out of my employer (Something to do with film and/or digital imaging), you may want to take a peek back.

Nuthin. That is precisely what�s going on today. Wayne picked up Bob yesterday afternoon. Neither Cindy nor I were home from work when the transfer occurred. Have no idea how things are going.

Finally mowed the lawn for the first time this year. Whoopee. Thought maybe Cindy would have wanted to sit down and talk some about yesterday�s work announcement. Turns out she was more interested in self medicating, then yakking on the phone to whoever was nice enough to not hang up on her. Made for a quiet evening on my part. Did an emergency dinner run, (Cindy can�t be bothered to cook when she�s medicating), caught up on my diet tracking, got to watch some Survivor, snuck in some reading of Stephen Donaldson�s latest chapter in the Thomas Covenant series.

After getting my whole workout routine disturbed this week, finally got back on track this morning. Ninth session in a row over 5 miles & 500 calories. Close this morning though � only 504 calories. Also snuck in a weight measurement. I was really curious, because I�ve been thinking I hadn�t been doing all that well food wise for the past week. Must be the extra food cranked up the metabolism or something. Went from 195, straight through the 194�s and settled in at 193.75. I�ll just shut up and accept it � and maybe be a little better about what I eat for the next several weeks.

This latest weigh in does extend a pattern that�s been developing so far this year. I seem to go 2 or 3 weeks losing at a pretty good clip, then hit a plateau for 2 or 3 weeks. Rinse, repeat. In the graph I�ve been using to track my progress (not too geeky, right?), there is a lovely stair-step pattern plainly visible. I went back and looked at last years charts. Going from 265 to 220 was pretty much a straight line for the first 6 months of the year. Things got a little scattered during summer, then Cindy got that whole blood clot thing going, and losing weight was a secondary priority for a while. By mid-August things were starting to get back on track and the weight loss became more constant, albeit at a slower rate. Then Christmas hit and things slowed down again. Then we hit this year and the funky pattern.

I don�t think this years pattern is directly a result of something I�m consciously doing. I do have to admit that it�s getting a lot harder to shave off the pounds the closer I get to my target range. That may have something to do with this reduction pattern. There�s less margin for that extra PB & honey sandwich, or cookies even. Boy, do I realize that now. Maybe, just maybe, those plateaus are related to the appearance of fresh baked cookies in the kitchen. Too bad all the evidence is gone.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.75 on 5/5/06 (progess again! Who needed to stop an 194 anyhow?)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06
Next �official� weigh in: 5/13/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/1/06: 335.90
Miles with cooldown: 370.04
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks