Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Non-linear
2006-05-08, 2:54 p.m.

Day 624 Linear. NOT.

I am so screwed. Sport has apparently accepted the terms of this weighdown showdown dealie. She called my bluff. Only saving grace is that she really doesn�t have 8 pounds to lose, but I DO need to trim off another 13.75 to reach my target. That leaves the possibility I could lose more than Sport, only because her task is nearly impossible. She�s trying to squeeze water from a stone, while I�m working with a soggy sponge. She does have that coffee thing going though. That could be hard to match with nothing but an elliptical trainer.

Wish I had thought to do before/after pictures and taken measurements and all. I�ve scoured the archives and can�t come up with any decent photos of myself from last January. Well, my drivers license picture was taken in mid December of �04, but no one looks good in those anyhow � so I can�t see that helping show the changes. Except that I just looked at it, and my Lord! Did I have a goiter or something? Maybe I can use that as a �before� shot.

Also ran across some shots from that xmas � but it�s all xmas morning present opening stuff, so I�m sitting around in sweat pants and a t-shirt. Those types of clothes are so good at hiding dimensions, so there�s not much point in using them.

I�ll have to keep looking. I gotta have SOMETHING from late 2004/early 2005 that manages to illustrate my true (former) dimensions. Should I ever find them, I�ll trot right over and get a Photobucket or Flicker account so�s I can share. That�ll be my new mission � photo documentation on what it looks like to lose 70 pounds, AFTER you do it.

Barely kept the streak of 500 calories/5 miles in 30 minutes alive this morning. Had a whopping 3 calories to spare. I blame it on the elliptical trainer (#11). Took way too long to start hiking up the resistance. Ran into a bit of a traffic jam in the resistance machine are this morning. Can usually find a way to fit into the pattern pretty well, but this mornings people traffic just wouldn�t settle out. Not like there were any more or less people there than normal. It was the same folks that are there every morning. Some do the circuit in order, others skip around. I just got there a little late and it kinda goofed up the pattern. Not wanting to cause others to wait or worse � cut in line � I just opted to skip one particular machine this morning. Funny thing is, I appeared to have done the same thing last week. Must be Mondays are just bad for that kind of stuff.

OK � just did a crappy camera phone shot of my drivers license picture. Scrap that, I just got a look of how crappily they came out. Hey � as a future former Kodak employee, I do know a thing or two about image quality � and those camera phone drivers license shots didn�t have any. Quality. They did have lotsa crapitude though. Mostly a focus issue. Tried to get close so the size was ok, but it was a wee bit inside the focal range of my craptastic camera phone. Nice.

Oops � just blew my ip address when surfing from work, huh? That�s ok. I went and looked at my Photobucket account. Blew more than my ip address there. Now I gotta change that account name, lest you all learn my real last name. In which case, well, it�s one of those �if I tell ya, I gotta kill ya� deals. So, we�ll avoid the bloodshed and just go with a more reasonable Photobucket account name, instead of the truly genius inspired initial/initial/last name technique I abused earlier.

Holy schnike! Almost forgot I�m in a 5K race Saturday. Have to go pick up the whole �pre-race� packet sometime this week, then arrange for transport to & from the blessed event. Glad we get a kid home this week. Got to go get him (son #2) from school Friday. Then the big race day Saturday. Wonder if he feels like hanging out at a race Saturday morning?

Oh yeah � Serena � you still have business out towards Dewitt/Fayetteville Thursday? I can check with #1 and see if he�s working that evening. I�ll also be out your way the 20th for #1�s apartment evacuation, so maybe we can get something set up. A couple beers after packing the trucks wouldn�t hurt much I�m guessing. Otherwise, it�ll be all the way till August before I�m out there again.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.75 on 5/5/06 (progess again! Who needed to stop at 194 anyhow? Only 13 to go to catch Mom-on-Roof)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06
Next �official� weigh in: 5/13/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/8/06: 341.12
Miles with cooldown: 375.78
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks