Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Memer, memer, memer
2006-05-16, 3:03 p.m.

Day 632 Memer, memer, memer

So I�ve had the pleasure of being tagged by Sport to do this 6 weird things meme. Here�s the top 6 weird things I think I know about me.

1- When cutting up veggies for salads or cooking, I usually insist that I do it. Most times, I feel that other folks (ahem, Cindy, cough, cough) cut the stuff up too coarsely, and it diminishes my own enjoyment of said salad or dish. Things like sweet peppers, onions & radishes I like if they�re cut delicately, but I don�t really want a forkful of nothing but peppers. Unless they�re really, really hot.
2- There are days when I will almost completely rearrange everything in the dishwasher, just because I don�t like how it�s been loaded. Again, certain people just toss stuff in there, say �oh look, it�s full, better run it� when in fact, if it were loaded properly, one could get twice as much stuff in there and only run the damn thing half as often. Then there�s the whole issue of placement so things don�t flip and just hold quarts of skanky dishwater. It�s all part of the master load plan. Most people have given up and just let me load the damn dishwasher my way period. It�s easier for everyone involved.
3- I can not abide an extension cord, length of rope, or garden hose that�s improperly wrapped. I want it done so there�s no crossing, no twisting, no tangling. Again, I have been known to completely re-do someone else�s work (in front of them) so that my cords are properly stored. People that just do the old wrap it up around your arm thing? Stay away from my rope. That method leads to tangled lines, which leads to further frustrations and time lost undoing the tangle. Again, just let me do it � it�s easier for everybody.

Hmmm, better start changing the theme here . . .

4- I loves me some hot peppers. I put them on nearly everything. Pasta dishes, tossed salads (my own at least), soups, chili, meat loaf. This year, we�re growing 3 different varieties, maybe 4 if I can track down some habaneros. Dry them in the smoker, use them in salsa, stuff them with crab meat & cheese then smoke �em, hot peppers do not get wasted around here.
5- I do most things right handed - write, throw, bowl, golf, bat. I play hockey left handed. Haven�t figured this one out yet. Kids are done with hockey now, so it�s of little concern anymore.
6- I�ve worked for Kodak for nearly 24 years (next week actually), but I NEVER have a camera handy for those obvious photo ops. I don�t even own a decent digital camera. Sad, I know. What would George Eastman think?


There�s other stuff, like how I always sing the bass parts to what ever music I�m listening to (matches my voice, so why not?), or how I really prefer to drive rather than ride (a guy thing?) or I�m a tongue roller, or I�ve been able to tie a cherry stem in a knot inside my mouth using my tongue only. Quite a talent, no? I can also throw a baseball harder than probably 96.3% of the general population, but where has that gotten me? No where. Maybe the weirdest thing of all is that in high school, I was in band & choir, was considered one of the jocks AND was in the advanced level classes for Math, Science, English and Social Studies. It was kind of cool � I was in so many groups it was almost impossible to be ostracized or cliqued away.

Anyhoo � that�s kinda it for my own eccentricities. No fear of heights, closed in spaces, spiders, no uncanny abilities to navigate or get lost either. Wish I had an uncanny ability to drop 14 pounds in 6 weeks.

Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.00 on 5/14/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/20/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/16/06: 370.27
Miles with cooldown: 407.45
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks