Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Reality is a . . .
2006-05-17, 9:58 a.m.

Day 633 Reality is a Harsh Mistress

Muchas gracias to Alison for slapping me up and making me realize I need to get a little head work done on me too. Nothing major, just some tweaks. Coping mechanisms too. Those would be nice.

I know of an Al-Anon group that meets Thursdays @ 5pm at a church about 6 miles from where I work. Not the most convenient place to get to, but the time is really good. I plan on going again next week. This week I need to go help haul son #1 home from school.

My employer also offers counseling services for these types of situations. I hate calling places like that from here in Dilbertville, there are so many accidental eaves droppers. I do have two Dr. appointments of my own this afternoon, so I took the afternoon off. I can use that private time to call and discuss appointment options with them.

The other thing I�d like to try and accomplish this week is to meet up with Serena. Inquiring minds want to know � just what is this whirling dervish like in real life?? I for one, am really curious. Besides, she�s met my son, and they both lived to tell the tale. Now we HAVE to meet. Serena � I�ll email ya � we can see if our schedules match up. I ought to be able to squeeze a little if�n I need to.

Another horrible, lousy, cardio work out this morning. Think the old legs are still hurting from the 5K over the weekend. Laying off leg presses for a bit, to see if that helps them out. Poor things just aren�t used to all that activity.

The malaise is even crossing over into resistance training. Been really struggling to complete 3 sets at weights that hadn�t given me that much trouble before. Probably a combination of stress, poor sleep and the lingering effects of last weeks all nighter & the 5K. I�ll be doing no formal workout Friday, just moving stuff. Maybe that bit of a break will help. Also haven�t had a proper aerobics class in nearly 2 weeks. I miss the change of pace those classes offer. Ought to make that part of my own recovery � making sure I get to those classes. Besides, I kinda miss the interactions with the different people too. Hell � they�re sober. Nice change.

The one encouraging thing to come out of all this is that there have been no urges to break down and light up a butt. I�m hoping going to the gym and getting in really good, sweaty workouts has replaced the desire for nicotine. Seems to have worked so far � and it�s cheaper too. 21 month anniversary of being smoke free is coming up this Monday. Think I�ll celebrate with a nice long work out.

I gotta go pretend to be productive and stop obsessing about things I can�t control. Now.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.00 on 5/14/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/20/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/17/06: 375.32
Miles with cooldown: 412.98
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks