Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The First Daughter
2006-05-20, 11:00 p.m.

Day 636 The First Daughter

Save me! All the kids are home from college for the summer. Just over a week ago, we had a nice, quiet (heh) two person household. Now we sit at 5, with the option to bump it up to 6 if and when Bob comes back up from Wayne�s.

Made the trip to Syracuse to help Zach & Jill load up a UHaul and get all their stuff back here to Camp Full House. Jill�s parents, brother & cousin drove up from Jill�s home (well south of Buffalo) and gave us a hand with the unloading portion of the program. Now for the first time ever, there will be a female other than my mother or wife residing in the same house with me & the boys. Zach, of course, is thrilled. Eric & Jill get along fine, so no problems there. Cindy is thrilled just to have another female around. Helps immensely that she and Jill get along well.

That leaves me. I come from a family of 4 boys. Until now, only had boys around. (Family tradition actually. Oldest sibling of a generation has only male offspring � for 3 generations running now) Never had to co-exist with a female from the next generation down before. Only thing I need to get her to do is stop calling me Mr. (insert my surname here). Gonna get real old, real quick, especially with her living here for the next 7+ months while she completes her next semester of college.

I�ll be working on her to at least call me Brian. She drops the occasional Rueben on me, but usually only when Eric is around. Eric started that lord knows how long ago. Now he�s got half the Fredonia campus calling me that. Well, ok � just his suite mates, but still. Wish I could remember how & why that started.

Anyhow � got to get Jill to stop the Mister (insert my surname here) business. I think Zach is calling her parents by name, and I told them we�d be putting a stop to this Mr & Mrs business. Makes me feel too old.

One event during the recent trip to Syracuse gets it�s own entry. While in town Thursday night, I had the distinct pleasure of meeting none other than Serena, the special ops agent that recently stalked, er um, met up with Zach just last week. Our own meeting certainly deserves a separate entry. I�m working on that now, but it may take a bit to do it the justice it deserves.

Finally got back to aerobics this morning. It felt really good to get into that type of movement again. Kind of wondering if my elliptical work hasn�t been suffering lately because of the lack of variety caused by missing so many aerobics classes over the last couple of weeks. Regardless, it was good to be back. Now I need to make good on my threat of dragging Jill to a class. She says she�s ready for it. Bet she won�t be calling me Mr. (insert my surname here) after Lisa (the instructor) gets hold of her in that first class.

Cindy is hosting this Tia something or another jewelry party tomorrow. Thought it might provide a good excuse to go golfing. Mother nature seems to disagree. Forecast calls for a high in the low 50�s, showers and 35mph winds. Beautiful day for golf in Scotland maybe, but on this side of the big pond, that kind of forecast calls for an indoor workout. Maybe I can try and get in some pace training for that 3.5 mile race coming up June 1. Any excuse to rack up those YMCA fit Points works for me.

One or two quick notes on the old Weighdown with Sport and Alison. Updates!! We need Updates!! Alison is just getting going, having overcome an equipment issue. Besides, she lives north of Sport � swim suit season starts later up there. I�ve finally broken down and added in a little table down below. Now we gots to fill �er up.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 191.00 on 5/20/06 (I have no clue. Tried Sports Yuengling diet)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/20/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/18/06: 380.40
Miles with cooldown: 418.58
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


The Weighdown Stats

Victim Net Loss Weeks to go Target
Brian 2.75 5 14 (oy � that�s a ways off)
Sport 5 8
Alison 6 8


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks