Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

More of the "What About Bob" Sweepstakes
2006-06-06, 4:43 p.m.

Day 653 The What About Bob Game

Well, the dust has settled some on the What About Bob Sweepstakes. Before his last trip down to the BIL�s house, he put a deposit down on an apartment at The Legacy, a very nice senior living place up here near the city. Had a tentative move in date of July 15. Well, 3 weeks of sitting around the house, out in the middle of no where, with nothing but 4 dogs to talk to all day kinda got Bob�s mind made up to go ahead and move in sooner.

We brought him back to our place this past weekend. First thing he wanted to do was head over to the Legacy, sign a lease and move up his moving in day. We are now preparing to move him in there this Saturday. I�ve made reservations on a truck, even made arrangements with Wayne to begin hauling all Bob�s possessions out of the basement down there. Saturday is going to be one very long day.

Wayne seems to be finally accepting this move. He�s at least been civil to me, although he did try to stir up a little ruckus last week. Bob stood his ground, even though it was quite upsetting to him at the time. Wayne keeps claiming that he�s had no part in the whole where will Bob be living process. He has been offered plenty of opportunities to participate � he has elected to do nothing. I still think he�s hoping the whole deal will fall apart and he can again try to gain control of Bob and his (considerable) assets.

Truth be told, since April, I�ve done more for Bob than Cindy & Wayne combined, and he�s their Dad. Maybe it�s a little easier for me because I have less emotional investment in the whole deal. I really don�t know. Funny thing is, for all Cindy & Wayne worry & fret about who is going to end up with power of attorney for Bob and his funds, it�s looking more & more like I�ll get it (oh boy). Bob keeps looking to me for his financial questions and seems to take my advice to heart. I am by no means a financial wizard, and keep advising the use of estate lawyers and financial planners. We will be seeing an estate lawyer soon. I think that will be when the whole power of attorney question gets answered once and for all. Personally, I�d hate to see Wayne get it solo. I�d be happy to split it with him, with me to handling the day to day stuff, and Wayne & I having to agree on other major decisions. But there is a possibility Bob will just throw it all at me. I�ll do it, but it�s going to piss some people (Wayne & Missy) off. A lot.

Seems like this running bug got a pretty good grip on me. Signed up for the Airport 5K, a benefit race for the local Lifetime Assistance program. June 24 race, a Saturday morning, with the course actually out on the airport runways. Not the big commercial jet runways, but the smaller, private airplane sections. Still, ought to be pretty cool, cruising around out there. Just hope it isn�t a windy morning, not much protection out there on the airfield. At least now I have a target time to beat � that being my rather disappointing run from last month. Now I have a better idea of what pace I should be running. I hope.

Ugh. Just heard from the Uhaul people. I asked to get a truck from a place 4 miles from my house, close to a south bound expressway. Also wanted it for 24 hours. Uhaul wants me to go pick up a truck 15 miles from my house, only have it from 7am to 5pm and the wrong direction (way north) from where I need to go. And I�m paying for this privilege. Well, Bob is. Sweet. We�ll be whipping the horses that day, bet on it. I hate dealing with Uhaul.

I�m getting confused on this whole losing weight idea. I behave during meals, eat what I should. Only between meal snacks I get is the pickings from the cutting board when making a tossed salad. I work out like a mad fool, 4 � 6 cardio sessions and 4 � 5 weight sessions a week. How is it I�ve gone over a week without dropping any weight? This is when I think that maybe I�m eating too little and the ol� body had slowed down the metabolism to compensate. Little bugger is in starvation mode. Maybe it needs some pork fat to wake it up.

To remedy the situation, tonight�s dinner is: Bratwurst (maybe smoked, mmmmmm good), a nice oily pasta salad with lots of olives & cheese and a big pile of tossed salad. Maybe some cheese & crackers for appetizer. If there isn�t enough fat in that to get things rolling again, I�ll just concede the weighdown to Alison & Sport and go take my medicine. Don�t ask me about the logic in that. It�s escaping me too.

Also - big congrats to Alison for making it to her third anniversary being smoke free. Way to go � that�s quite an accomplishment. Hope to join you there some day.

Gotta go figure out how to get 48 signals to fit into only 39 available pins on a logic device. Weird. The other 100 or so fit so well. Wasn�t till I got down towards the end that I noticed things were coming up a little short. First estimates showed an excess of 10 pins. Someone snuck in an extra twenty signals on me. And maybe the device literature was a little misleading. Dag nabbit.

ps - one quick note regarding the date. My next younger brother had the awesome luck to be born on June 6. He was so lucky, that on 6/6/66 he turned 6 years old. He's also the one that converted to a Jehovah's Witness. Any wonder why?


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 189.75 on 6/5/06 (I�m stuuuuuuck)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Right)
Next �official� weigh in: 6/10/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 6/2/06: 430.75
Miles with cooldown: 473.90
Target for 2006: 1000 miles



























Weighdown Stats
VICTIM NET LOSS TARGET WEEKS TO GO
Brian 4.0 14 3
Sport 3 8 3
alison 2 8 4




If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks