Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Waiting for that Moment
2006-07-19, 10:00 p.m.

Day 696 Waiting for that Moment

Made a ton of progress at work today. Funny how that coincides with not reading a lot of journals or spending time on an entry of my own. Hmmmm. Imagine � 9#0 at night and I�m typing this up at home. Bet you can�t guess why.

Anyhow. A couple of entries back I said this regarding my reaction to Cindy�s binges:

Maybe this is what I�ll tell her � �I can�t tolerate how you�re acting right now because of your drinking. I�m steering clear of you until you sober up. I will do nothing to aid your drinking and I will do nothing to cover for you. Someone calls for you on the phone � I�m handing it to you. Good luck.�

A reader, who shall remain anonymous until I have permission to mention them here (or not � their choice of course), had some very sound advice regarding that thought. In a nutshell, they advised me that yes, this is a good thing to tell her. But, it should only be brought up when she is sober and can fully process the information.

Like I said, sound advice. Unfortunately, I�m still waiting for that sober moment. (Yes! That�s why I�m typing this at home. Privacy guaranteed by a passed out spouse. Again.) That sober moment will come sooner or later. I think. I don�t want to put it in an email and send it to her at work. That�s really not fair, might cause her difficulty at work, and is only delaying the inevitable reaction and ensuing heated debate that is sure to follow. Like another slightly less than anonymous benefactor has advised me � not only will you have that discussion, you will have it more than once over the next several years. Oh, joy. Sad, but true I�m afraid.

Seems that the local rodent population has noticed the vacancy under my tool shed. Bastards. Right when the green beans are blossoming too. Had a hole in the back plugged up with an assortment of stone and cinder clock. Damn woodchucks just dig around it. I throw in more stone, wood, bricks & slate. Force them through the single front entrance where I can trap them. They give up for a bit. Saturday I noticed signs of activity in that front entrance, so I reset the trap. Sunday, I noticed the trap was tripped, but no dead woodchuck. Yesterday (Tuesday) Eric noticed that the rear entrance had been re-dug. He plugged it (again) and reset the trap. Today? Trap was tripped, no dead woodchuck. Can�t figure how they�re getting by, yet. Oh � they also opened up the rear entrance again. I�ve got 2 bags of old cement left over from a little project last year. Might be just enough to plug up that re-opened rear entrance. That and a conglomeration of bricks & rock. It�ll at least hold up the back side of the shed. I�m afraid it�s going to disappear in a woodchuck caused sinkhole soon.

Also thinking of putting in a trap door in the floor of the shed. Might do a little exploring, see just where they think they�re headed. You know, take out a few floor boards, find the best spot to put the trap door. Then we can flush the chucks under the shed, lure them into a false sense of security, then pop the trap doors and shish-ka-bob them with pitch forks. Sounds kinda brutish, but this is my green beans we�re talking of preserving here. They start messing with my habaneros, I�m going nuclear. Or maybe back to bow & arrow. Great practice for deer season. Paranoid little buggers are fun to stalk.

Anyhow � off to bed with me. Back to the gym in the early in the morning. Off day today so the ol� body could rest up. Tomorrow morning, bright & early, we go burn off a pound or two of angst on the ellipticals. Ought to really tear them up tomorrow.

Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 186.25 on 7/15/06
Target: 180 by 8/22/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 7/18/06: 553.32
Miles with cooldown: 608.53
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks