Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

New Duds
2006-08-03, 3:16 p.m.

Day 711 New Duds

Hee � Day 711. Makes me want to say �Thank you very much. Please have a Slurpee� in my best Pakistani accent.

Now, before I have to off for sensitivity training or something, I gots me some news. I�d been complaining about the sad state of my wardrobe � especially in summer wear. Well, now that summer is drawing to a close, we all know the summer clothes (geeze, close, clothes � kinda close - whoa! Durn English language!!) are on sale. Locally, we have a BonTon at a mall, maybe 2.5 miles from where I work. Went there for lunch today. Man, did I score some good deals.

$30 polo shirt, marked down to $18, then got an additional 70% off. Found 2 other shirts, originally $35, marked down to $22, with an additional 70% off. That was 3 shirts for less than $20 total. All of them will make great shirts for bowling too.

Shorts weren�t as kind deal-wise. They had some at that same 70%. Didn�t care for how they fit. Inseam was too long on one pair. Hate shorts that fall around my knees. On another pair, the zipper flap just would not sit flat. Afraid it�d look like my zipper was always half undone. That could get you arrested some places. Ended up settling for some Columbia Wear shorts for a measly 50% off. But they had only an 8� inseam, so they might actually be kinda cool temp wise. And one of them is the cargo style, so it�ll be cool with the younger generation too.

The good part? After straining an XL shirt in all the wrong places - I can easily slip into a large and it actually looks not too bad. The better part? Waist line of the shorts. Comfortably down to a 34. Shit. Haven�t worn a 34 since I was 21 or 22. Sadly, that�s better than half a life time ago. The best part? All in all, got $170 worth of duds for a whopping $52.

Sad part? Got to re-supply my long pants wardrobe. Horrible problem to have, this getting smaller clothes crap. But one just can�t be walking around in baggy assed pants. Ask my kids how much I harp on them about their droopy drawers. Someone needs to set the proper example. Might as well be me.

Leaving for the wilds of north western New Jersey in the morning. After a work out, of course. Probably piss off the wif, but I�m not sure if I can really talk any of that crowd into an early morning jog. Maybe my aunt Laura (she�s actually my age or younger � kind of an odd family situation), maybe cousin Mike or � or� shit! Can�t remember her name � and we�re staying at her parents house. Dang it. It�s actually Mike�s older sister. She�s a few years older than Zach, only met her once, I�m sure Frank & Connie will be happy to remind us. Haven�t seen their kids in about 5 or 6 years now. Hmmmm. It�ll come to me as soon as I stop thinking about it, I�m sure. Oh well.

Is Alzheimer�s contagious? I think I might be able to build a case to prove it is. Since Bob moved back north and we�ve been interfacing with him several times a week, I seem to be getting CRS disease (can�t remember shit). My mom calls them �senior moments�, Bob can�t remember what to call them, I�m calling them very frustrating. Ah well.

Seriously considering learning some meditation techniques. Got a jug o�change waiting to be turned into an Amazon gift card via the magic of Coinstar. Did a little bit of research and found �Meditation for Dummies� (just my speed), and a whole slew of other meditation guides. Hoping the meditation would help me de-focus on a certain few issues, and maybe introduce a calmness into the house. At the very least, it ought to be a great way to de-stress and drop the ol� BP another couple of points.

Speaking of which � tested my BP again today. After settling down after the walk out to the BP machine, I averaged 117/75 with a pulse of 51. No meds since last October. Very cool. Wonder if the meditating will lower that even a little more?

Timing chart, timing chart, I gotta finish this timing chart before I go. @#$^% work, always getting in the way.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 184.75 on 7/31/06 (musta been seriously dehydrated)
Next weigh in: 8/7/06 (after vacation, oh boy!!)

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (gotta go some!)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 8/1/06: 614.72
Miles with cool down: 676.09
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 60+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks