Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

25.03 Years and Counting
2006-08-16, 4:25 p.m.

Day 724 25.03 Years and Counting

Well, the choice of gift was a success. Came to her as a surprise. She�d mentioned things about something like it in the past, but may have assumed I didn�t really listen. She was joking about getting a J@cuzzi Hot Tub, so we (kids & I) were joking around about when to schedule the delivery, etc.

Was going to wait till after dinner for opening it. Got antsy and just let her open it while we were all hanging out on the patio. Ring was very well received. Only thing now is to get it properly sized. I think it currently is around a size 7 (fits my pinky, almost), needs to be a 4 �. We�ll drop it off tonight, pick it up next week sometime.

Didn�t have the black bean chili for dinner. Shut down the stove, covered the chili, packed everybody in the van and hit up a well known seafood chain for a crustacean based meal. Beat the hell out of chili. At least tonight�s� dinner is ready, just have to add a salad and voila � she is finis. The chili is also a Cooking Light recipe. After the lemon/butter/garlic sauce on my salmon & shrimp last night, I need to behave for a while. And those cheddar/garlic biscuits!! I was a bad boy last night. (No - not that kind of bad boy. That�s a rant for another day)

Kinda bummed I haven�t heard from a certain local banks representatives yet today. Supposed to be starting up some new investment vehicles for the FIL to improve his interest yield and get him back within the FDIC insurance limits. I tell you, it really sucks having problems like he has. FIL is talking about setting up trusts to help the grand kids through college. My problem? 3 of his 5 grandkids (2 of them are mine) are college seniors or done with school. NOW he�s talking about setting up trusts that would kick in when he�s gone? I�ve got some education expenses he could help me out with right now. Not to mention the subsidized loans the kids have too. Now, Eric may go on to do post grad studies, but that will be next year. Odds are good for the FIL to live another 10+ years. I don�t want to rush him along or seem unappreciative, but the timing of this really stinks. Then I get to work to improve on his whopping 0.6% interest money market savings account � do all the leg work, talk to bank managers & investment advisors till I�m cross eyed & drooling and he wants to set up trusts to cover the grandkids future education NOW? When my guys are done? (And Cindy & I have absorbed 2/3 of their educational expenses?!?!?) I need to negotiate with him.

Of course, I also need to cool my jets a bit and remember that he�s only had this �problem� since April. This has all come about since he sold his house in Florida. He�s live a comfortable life � never wanted for anything, got to take nice vacations every year. But selling his house put him in a whole new category. He�s quite frankly not used to having the funds that he currently has. I, quite frankly, am not used to having the kind of funds he has. It�s kinda scary. Hope I don�t screw things up too bad. Of course, going from 0.6% interest annually to something in the 8% range (including fees, etc), it�s looking good so far.

No workout today � rest day. Hit it hard tomorrow, light workout Friday, then the 5K Lupus Run in beautiful downtown Scottsville Saturday. Followed shortly thereafter by hauling son #2 (Eric) back to school for the fall semester. The house will be so much quieter . . .


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 185.5 on 8/14/06 (made up for the bad weekend, but still behind)
Next weigh in: 8/14/06

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (right)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 8/15/06: 655.71
Miles with cool down: 720.99
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 60+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks