Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Corrections
2006-09-08, 5:08 p.m.

Day 747 Corrections

What was I saying about bowling starting next week? Apparently the league secretary & president decided otherwise, and never got word to me or my brothers. Last night, during the Al Anon gab fest, I got buzzed on my phone. Found out after the meeting that bowling had started at 4:45 LAST night. I got buzzed at 5:45 & 6:20, while sitting in a meeting 20 miles from the bowling alley.

Since the bowling alley and the league officers effed up, we�re going to see if we can bowl this weekend and have our scores count. Other wise we lose all 8 points from last night and start in a hole. Besides, the whole rest of the league was there � we were the only team not called. I think it�s a plot to handicap us cuz we kicked so much butt last year. Well, we�ll show them, the mangy behstahds!!

So that was correction #1 � bowling started a wee bit earlier than we thought. Correction #2 has to do with the accumulation of miles down there at the bottom of my posts. Seems I had a little spreadsheet snafu and was counting the last three days twice. Result of some sloppy bookkeeping changing one month over to the next. Oops. Makes it look like I went backwards 5 miles this morning. At least it�s right now.

Sort of put myself between a rock and a hard place. Leads to the third correction. Cindy needs to know needs to know what I�ve been doing Thursday�s after work Have a meeting coming up Sunday. She needs to know about that before I step out of the house that evening. She also needs to understand that I�ll be doing this for the foreseeable future. Be assured, I am not going to tell her everything this weekend just to get a reaction out of her. Saturday is going to suck. Either from telling her, or dreading it.

Got a quote from a little birdy (named Alison) today that goes like this: Play your part in the comedy, but don't identify yourself with your role! From Why Lazurus Laughed by Wei Wu Wei.

Time for me to stop playing the part of the thief, sneaking a couple of hours for a meeting every week. Better to be upfront about it from here on out.

Also got some solid advice from an Al Anon friend � that I should frame the whole thing as my problem. Not make it �Cindy�s fault for drinking�, but make it me having the problem accepting her drinking. In essence, communicate to her that the reason I�m even going to Al Anon is because of MY problem, not hers.

Don�t know that she�ll ever accept that. She tends to take the blame for everything. Even last night (through a bit of alcohol fueled haze) she said she was sorry about my missing bowling. I just looked at her and asked, �Why are you sorry? It wasn�t your fault.� Amazingly enough, I wasn�t even all that upset about it. Just filed it under �Shit Happens� and let it go. After all, what was I going to change about it?

Well, my simulator just blew up, figuratively speaking, so I guess it�s time to go home. Fun little race tomorrow, maybe some bowling Sunday, a bike ride and a lawn mowing. Oh yeah, someplace in there is a confession too. Can�t wait.


Thing is

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 187.0 on 9/5/06 Not as bad as I feared.
Next weigh in: 9/11/06

New target � Aim is 180, date? How about Halloween?? � Yeah, look like a skeleton by Halloween. That�s about a pound a week between now & then.

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 9/6/06: 704.10
Miles with cool down: 774.25
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 107 miles biking so far. (106.98 for you choosy mothers)



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks