Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Holding Pattern
2006-11-16, 11:31 a.m.

Day 816 Holding Pattern

NaBloPoMo #14

Want to get this in here as a place holder for today�s entry at least. Since last night�s late update, not much note worthy has happened. What can I say? Mundane is the word of the week.

Did make some significant progress at work, found a nasty little bug in my program that was causing some weird timing issues. Now I can go through and do clean up stuff, try to suck out a few clock cycles here & there, generally tighten things up for efficiency�s sake.

Finally updated the mileage stats. Really have about 83 miles to go to make the goal. Not going to count those miles accumulated while cooling down (generally, 5 minutes at more of a walking pace), only counting the ones where I�m moving like I�m trying to get somewhere.

It�s kinda funny, I see folks grunting along on what ever piece of cardio equipment, and there are people at all sorts of fitness levels getting in some work. But I wonder about those folks that are mid life or younger, going at the elliptical at pace & resistance settings some folks are doing in their cool down. Pretty sad state of affairs when they can�t or won�t exert themselves a bit and actually work up a sweat. I wonder if they�re actually doing any good at all sometimes. Hope they aren�t wondering how they got themselves into such poor share to begin with. Like I should talk. 20 months ago, I was one of them.

Ya know, I think I�m going to take a half day today. I�m kinda burnt on work lately, my stomach feels like crap, and my attitude stinks. Besides, I want to go shopping and get some new jeans & work out shoes. D1ck�s Sp0rting G00ds was running a sale on some jeans - $10 a pair on some close out, N0rtheast 0utfitters or something I think. I need to go score me some of those, in a 34 waist thank you. And my cross training shoes are getting a little worn. 1000 miles will do that.

Know what else I can do with a half day? Sneak in a call to Serena and pester her to update. Might have to plot another trip to the east to rejuvenate her some. Zach is moving again soon � it may just all come together. One can hope.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 188 on 11/4/06 (Out of the rut, but in the wrong direction)
Next weigh in: 1/18/06 (if I dare)

New target � Aim is 180, by Christmas. Better get it in gear.


The Keep on Truckin goal: (miles piled up on elliptical trainers and/or running)
Miles at speed 11/16/06: 917.25
Miles with cool down: 1009.03
Target for 2006: 1000 miles at speed (cool down miles don�t really count)


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks