Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

That Ugly time of Year
2006-12-07, 4:25 p.m.

Day 837 That Ugly Time of Year

Ugh. Stuck trying to write a summary of my accomplishments for the year. For work, that is. Rough year at work. Events on the home front have made concentrating on work difficult at times. Got to find a way to put a rosy glow on the things I did accomplish and figure out how to motivate myself to getting more done next year. Of course, having our division up for sale (or looking for �strategic alternatives� as the corporate spin doctors like to say) doesn�t help the morale any. I hate these accomplishment lists.

What didn�t need help was this mornings run. Resisted the urge to slow down the treadmill a few times after the 2 mile mark and managed to FINALLY do a 5K in under 25 minutes. That�s only 5 minutes slower than my high school times. Maybe by the time I�m 50 I�ll be running as fast as I was as a 16 year old. No, that won�t be next week.

Now that I know the sub 25 5K is do-able, I ought to concentrate on increasing distance, albeit at a somewhat slower pace. Unfortunately, I don�t really know what to estimate for a 10K pace. Is dropping 1 minute/mile a safe guess when going from a 5K to a 10K distance? Not a clue. Guess the thing to do would be to try it and adjust on the fly.

Paid attention to my foot this morning too. Definitely felt better running than it did on the elliptical. Weird. Maybe the pounding of running does a better job of forcing blood circulation, kinda like CPR for the foot. Maybe it�s the heel to toe rolling motion of the feet that helps when running. On the elliptical, you�re pretty much up on the balls of your feet without much heel involvement at all. Hmm � didn�t make that appointment either. Something for Monday�s to do list.

Tomorrow the entourage heads to Syracuse for a little graduation ceremony. Guess what the weather forecast is calling for? Lake effect snows here in Rottenchester tonight, with the wind shifting subtly overnight, taking the lake effect bands over towards Syracuse for Friday. We�re a little lucky in that the I-90 corridor (at least in our neck of the woods) is generally the cutoff for the worst of the lake snows. We�ll be either on I-90 or south of it for the majority of the festivities tomorrow. Might not make out too bad. Still haven�t had to do much (any?) driving in snow around here yet this year. Hate the thought of the first real snow driving being on a long trip, but ain�t got no choice, do I? Oh well. At least I have nice new tires for the snow.

Just heard from the secretary of war. Might have to make a detour to Manlius to pick up a painting after the festivities tomorrow. That�s only about 12 miles out of our way, but the alternative is to make a separate 100+ mile trip just for the painting. Or maybe pick up the painting when (if) we move Zach back home. Zach is moving back home, there�s just a question of whether or not it�s necessary for me to take the van out & help. It would provide an excuse to go see Serena and get in my quota of hugs (and find out why the heck she isn�t posting lately too!!). Hmmmm. Fine motivation there.

Well, time to wrap this up and head to one of my favorite places, AMF Gates Bowl. Now that the snow is flying, maybe the lanes will be a little drier. Can�t get much slicker than they were last week. Maybe a little dose of 600 grit sand paper will help too. That trying to throw the ball slower works (sorta), but it�s too damn hard to go that slow all the time. I�d rather just rear back & let �er rip, but the lanes have to be really, really dry before I can get enough hook to be dangerous. My prediction for tonight? 660. Hope I didn�t jinx it.

Later dudes & dudettes.

Weight Stats:

Start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current: 188 on 11/25/06 (New rut. At least it isn�t going up.)
Next: 12/9/06 (I didn�t dare last week)

New target � Aim is 180, by Christmas. Better get the rear in gear.


The Keep on Truckin goal: (miles piled up on elliptical trainers and/or running)
Miles at speed 12/6/06: 985.61
Miles with cool down: 1083.99
Target for 2006: 1000 miles at speed (cool down miles don�t really count)

Thought about trying to hit 1000 on my birthday, but it would require too many days of no or very little running. See the comments on weight for why little or no running is a bad idea. Yeah.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks