Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Nothing Much to See Here
2007-01-26, 4:24 p.m.

Day 887

As much as Wednesday evening did not turn out like I expected, Thursday evening did. Same old patterns, same old results.

Did get some good news during the day though. Zach had been back at school last semester to take a few classes to finish up his degree. Did great in one class, so-so in another and by mid December hadn�t gotten a grade in the third. Finally, a week before Christmas, the grade comes in on this third class, some world history class he needed to fill a liberal arts elective. F. F as in degree work not finis. Zach was appropriately disappointed, as were his adoring parents. He knew he wasn�t putting forth much effort in the class, but had done all the work and passed all the tests to date. He was a little confused as to how he could have failed.

He contacted his advisor. Was advised to sign up for a comparable class here at the local community college (MCC), get a C or better and apply for the grade transfer. Degree done in May. Zach dutifully signed up. 20th Century Russian History. What a cool class. Russia certainly had a lot of things going on last century. Thought maybe I could sneak some time in his books and take the class vicariously through Zach. Plus, being a community college, tuition wasn�t too terrible. Something along the lines of $360 for the 3 credit class. He needed 3 books at $9 a pop!! Who ever heard of text books going that low?

Then Zach got an email yesterday from his advisor. The professor from his world history class apparently found a paper. A paper he thought Zach had not turned in. A paper that had been sitting on his desk since the original due date. Zach must not have done a stellar job on the paper, but his class grade was changed from an F (for F�d up) to a D (for Done). And, better yet, his diploma is in process right now. So. Mr. Z is now the proud possessor of a BS from the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Environmental Resources and Forest Engineering. (Try fitting THAT on a one page resume!) As a side benefit, he doesn�t have to drop nearly $400 on a really cool Russian history class. He�s actually kinda bummed about not having to take the class, but glad to have the cash in his pocket.

Spent lunch on the phone chatting with OKC & Circe too. Together, those two are dangerous. That was another near hour that passed in the wink of an eye. I need to see my way clear to a visit down that way. A few days spent with those two would be a total riot. Circe � if you can reserve me a spot on the couch with a blanket, 7 or 8 cats, a dog, a ferret and maybe that laptop, I�ll figure out a way to visit. You work up a list of chores and I�ll earn my keep, cook dinner and be a charming conversationalist. Have to have OKC over for a cookout too.

My journal, my fantasy.

That was the good part of the day.

I�m not talking about the bad part, except to say that bowling sucked and Cindy is NOT a charming conversationalist when she is just a wee bit beyond schnockered. Or shitfaced if you prefer. Either way, it was one of those nights where I felt like I was the only adult in the house. I know, I know, Zach & Jill are each 22 and are adults in their own right, but seeing as Zach is still my kid, and Jill is almost like my kid, well, I was the only adult last night.

My journal, my version of the truth. Deal.

This morning, after trudging through our 6 flippin degree tundra to get to the gym, my legs were just absolutely dead on the bike. I could do the power stuff, standing climbs, etc. but no speed at all. Zipless. Due to my incredibly bad timing, I also got a bike right in front of the instructor. Sorry Mr. Instructor dude (Gary), I know you were really urging all of us to GO!, GO!, GO!, but my legs already WENT!, WENT!, WENT! I think he understood, because there was no shortage of sweat pouring off me, I was just flat. Now it�s the end of the work day, and I�m amazed that my legs haven�t cramped up yet. Must be all the decaf coffee I�ve chugged today. Or the fact that all I had to do today was sit here and read these mind numbing documents. I want to stick a nice mechanical right into my eye about now.

Gotta stop at the store on the way home.

Need milk, Cannellini beans and Sundried Tomato & Rosemary bread. Making what we call white beans and rice for dinner. The white beans mixture is Italian sausage, chicken stock, roaster peppers, gahlic, a little oregano. It�s about a stew consistency, or maybe like a chunky gumbo. Cindy wants to try some chili with pineapple in it this weekend. Pineapple & Canadian bacon on pizza, sure. But pineapple in chili? Doesn�t sound right. I�ll have to let you know how it goes. If I live through it.

OKC & Circe � we�ll continue SQPQ? As time permits this weekend? It�s been interesting so far. Really looking forward to OKC�s first round responses.

I�m outta here. Shopping to be done. Hope the temp hit double digits.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks