Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Number the Second
2007-03-29, 9:23 p.m.

Day 949 #2

No kidding, second posting today. Might have to go beck and see what exciting crap you missed from this morning.

Kinda goofed a little. Got out to that old Thursday meeting place about 20 minutes early for a 5pm meeting. For me, that's fantastic. Except the meeting is at 5:30. Left me plenty of time to read, reflect & ruminate. All in all, made for a very nice, slow day.

Bottom line out of all this is that I now have a real, living, breathing, 3 dimensional, special education teacher for a sponsor. My, how appropriate you're all thinking, I'm sure!

It would appear that he will be letting me drive, he'll just make sure I stay somewhere near the road and keep pointed in the right general direction (towards progress, always towards progress).

As we were all walking into the meeting, it was a little like old home week. Saw nearly all the regulars and met a few new folks. I made sure to get Mike's attention before we started and told him I'd like to talk with him afterwards. I'm sure he had an inkling what was up. He strode right over to my side of the meeting room as soon as the meeting closed, and just had a shit eating grin on his face the whole time. He's enthusiastic, well grounded and knows the program very well. He's also taken up meditation, so that's another subject he can maybe mentor me in.

Still an alarming lack of Y chromosomes at these shindigs. All of 3 of us there tonight. I can think of 1 other semi-regular attendee, and 1 other not so regular. Could have a lot to do with guys being generally less willing to open up and share their feelings. Could be they think they can handle it themselves. Could be that there are just more males that are problem drinkers, affecting more women. Alls I know is that it's pretty difficult to find sponsors of you're sporting a y chromosome. What's on that missing chunk of DNA that makes it like that?

Tomorrow is the last day I get a bonus from my future former employer. Guess it's family night out to dinner. Only problem is every place will be packed even more than normal for a Friday night around here. 16,000 people with a month's extra pay? Hot time on the old town tomorrow night. Have to take an appetite and a bucket of patience. Beats cooking I guess.

Time to drift off to sleep. Had my day of rest, gotta get back with the program tomorrow. after a PB & honey sammich. Tomorrow sounds good for that.

Can't forget to check in with the sponsor too. Daily for a while. This is going to get intense. Could be good!


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks