Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

To Ticket or Not
2007-04-26, 9:38 a.m.

Day 977

Due to my (cough, cough) highly cultured status, I get emails letting me know about upcoming shows in our area. These shows range from sporting events to musicals. Through them, we�ve gone to see Riverdance, Annie, The Mambo Kings (local jazz/mambo fusion band. Fantastic) and the Lion King (spectacular) � neat cultural things like that.

This morning, I got notice that Alison Krauss will be performing at a local outdoor venue this coming August and I can get advance sale tickets before the general public, starting this morning. Now, I�ve heard her name, but I�m not familiar with her music. What does she do? Isn�t she kind of country/folk style? I somehow got the impression she was more well known down south (heh, relative to me, nearly EVERYTHING is south), and since I have a fair number of readers from south of me, I thought I�d put it out there.

Here�s why. Got a call from one of my brothers yesterday. He has a pair of tickets to go see Spamalot (Monty Python). Due to his daughter having a solo music competition that same night, his wife will be doing the music thing with the daughter (she�s really, really good) and my brother was looking for a date for Friday night. Having an appreciation for wacked out British comedy (told you I was cultured), I signed up. In the process, I sorta bartered with Cindy, offering up a Martina McBride concert in trade. Except she�s here in town Saturday night and I�m sure all the good tickets are gone. I know what McBride sings and I don�t think I could take an entire evening of it. Not sure if two days is enough time for Cindy to find a work buddy to go with her. People got lives, you know.

So I was thinking that maybe I�d get some Alison Krauss tickets. I�d like them to be a surprise, but I really need to know what kind of music she does before I take the plunge. This venue she�s playing in August is outdoors, but for a price, you can get tickets under a roof � always a wise idea because you never know what the weather is going to do around here. So before I invest in the costlier tickets, I need to know. Think she�s got anything out on Limewire or iTunes? Paying a buck a song would be worth it I suppose. Hmmm. Better go get my little MP3 player for the gym and get busy. But if any of you have any knowledge of her singing style, speak up please.

Almost had a nice run this morning. Was shooting for 4 miles, but petered out at 3.5 due to excessive speed. Dangit. Thought I was going slow enough to make 4. Plus I was crunched for time, had some algebra test question on my mind, and was fretting over dinner tonight. Plus, I was in the 2nd row of machines and couldn�t see the TV�s well enough without my glasses so I wasn�t picking up the details of Sports Center. All that really mattered was that the Sabres won, and I already know that, but picking up some of the rest would have been nice. Oh well, that�s what the internet is for, right?

Think I�ll get this posted as is. Then I can get on with my day at least. If any of you know what�s up with Ms. Krauss, shout out, would ya?


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks