Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

More Silence
2007-05-24, 4:20 p.m.

Day 1005 More Silence

Man, it�s going to be a quiet holiday weekend. Maybe I�ll ride my bike down to Circe�s and keep her company for a while. It�s going to be like a tomb up here.

Jill is headed home for the holiday weekend. She leaves tonight. Both boys will be headed out sometime Saturday � Zach is going down to Jill�s folks place, Eric is headed out to Kelly�s parents. Think it�s because it�s predicted to be warm this weekend and they�ll have swimming options available (pool, lake) and our own pool has been gone for 4 years?

Or is it because Cindy�s surly silence and moping is driving everyone bat shit and if they have options to skedaddle, they�re taking them? Like I was saying earlier, Circe? I�ll share the couch with a cat or three if need be.

In a way, having the kids gone Saturday, Sunday & most of Monday could be a good opportunity. Might get the air cleared, again. I�ll just play it loose and if opportunity knocks, I�ll dive in. No point forcing the issue and making things worse.

Last time I posted a list of stgt (shit to get to), it kinda helped to focus my efforts. Didn�t accomplish it all, but made some serious progress. So, for the holiday weekend, here�s a potential list of activities:

Saturday:
Bike the Batavia loop (55 miler)
Till Veggie garden
Prep trim on shed � sand & prime

Sunday
Rest the legs
Garden Factory � get annuals & veggies and some more garden cloth
Paint shed trim (Burnt Auburn)
Plant tomatoes (cherry) & peppers (sweet, Jalapeno, Habanero)?

Monday
Bike some 65 mile loop, yet to be invented
Paint shed 2nd coats, trim & main body
Plant remainder of veggies � squash, carrots, beets, beans

Of course, I have to run this past the Department of Civil & Marital Warfare, but I doubt she�ll have any meaningful input. I�m sure she�ll bitch about the bike rides, even after saying she�s fine with my getting more into biking. Her opinion is that now that I�ve gone & gotten a real bike, I have to spend more time riding it. But she complains about every second I spend riding it, especially if it doesn�t fit into her idea of when a good time to ride is.

Her opinion? It would be great to just ride it to work & back. 9 miles one way. Barely 30 minutes, in a high traffic area. Ummm, I�m trying to get ready for a 100 mile, 6 hour ride next month. A measly 9 miles to work is bordering on a useless non-training run. After the tour I may start riding to work more, especially as gas approaches $4 a gallon (and my van uses a gallon a day just to get to work & back), but for now? I need lots & lots of miles. Like I was thinking yesterday, maybe I�ll ride out to my sponsors place someday soon. Do a training run with side benefits.

Anyhow.

Just had to sneak out of my 25th anniversary celebration here at the zoo. I requested an anonymous party with chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches & soda. I stayed for 30 minutes, completely hosed the anonymous part (thanks to a lucky co-worker that guessed right) but decided to leave before I consumed my third 500 calorie sammich. Man, those things are good. Gonna take 20 minutes on the treadmill to burn off just one of them. Knowing that doesn�t make it any easier to not eat them either.

The Lost season finale last night was pretty damn good. Took 1:55 to figure out that those scenes with Jack at the hospital were flash-forwards, not flashbacks. Or the whole story to date has been a flashback with more flashbacks embedded in it and we�re just now seeing the present day storyline. Locke isn�t dead (figured that would be the case) and, surprise, Walt is back. The one thing I don�t understand is why they had Charlie stay in the radio room and drown after Mikhail blew the window in with a grenade. It looked like there were locking handles outside the radio room and he could have gotten out easily enough and limited the flooding to that one little room while allowing himself & Desmond to escape in the scuba gear. Seemed like flawed logic there. Maybe that was the problem. I used logic.

Workout this morning sucked. (I blame Lost) Got there late (no spinning, I get there late, period). Wanted to run 4 miles, kind of a prep for next weeks 3.5 mile race. Set the pace kinda slow (I thought), and took off. Got to 3 miles and cashed it in. Legs were just done. Very disappointing. Sad part is I was running slower than I did when I cranked out a 5K (3.11 miles) Tuesday. Must be my biorhythms are all bottoming out.

Now, what with the work anniversary over and all, I have a whopping $150 to spend, in the company store. On what, I have no idea. A camera tripod maybe, but that would leave 125. Not enough for another (decent) camera, and do I really need another 5 or 6 shirts from a former employer? I�ll go look during lunch tomorrow, but I�m not holding out a lot of hope that I�ll find anything interesting. Golf Balls? Maybe a new windbreaker with some lame logo? Photo printer paper? Gah. The possibilities are so limited.

Meeting tonight. Boy, do I need one. Got to set up a plan with the sponsor.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks