Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

S is for . . .
2007-05-29, 2:54 p.m.

Day 1010

Thought I�d try and summarize the weekend keying off of words starting with the letter S.

Saturday we learned that:

S is for:
sixty, which is how far I traveled by bike in the morning.
sore ass, which is what I had after 3.5 hours in the saddle. Joe � FYI, it only took just over a day before I could walk normal again. Ouch!
stupid, which is what Cindy called me for even trying to bike that far.
sympathy, which Cindy actually gave me a little of � as long as I didn�t moan & groan too much.
sunburn, that I got while biking. Lovely farmers tan too!!
shed, that did not get painted
solo, which is how Cindy & I were left after the kids took off for the weekend.

Sunday we learned that:

S is for:
sore ass - those glutes were still complaining. Did some nice hamstring stretches, helped muchly.
slew of plants, almost all of which got planted Sunday - even the elusive, ultra dark purple dahliaette. (Went to 3 nurseries to find them!!)
seeds that also got planted. 4 types of squash, snow peas, 3 types of string beans, cherry tomatoes, Jalapeno�s, Habaneros, sweet peppers & beets. Oh � giant pumpkins too. We�re (I�m) gonna try for a 100+ pounds this year.
senility, which is getting The Bob firmly in it�s grips. Noticeable mostly to those of us closest to him � he can fool the casual observer. Spent a large chunk of the weekend keeping him entertained.
shed, that did not get painted
smoker, where we did up ribs for dinner

On Monday we learned:

S is for:
sore ass & still, but no so bad. It only hurt when I sat on hard chairs.
substitute plants that deer like (Arborvitae) for those they don�t. Only 2 Arborvitae left in the yard now.
shed, that did not get painted
smoker, where we did up brats, stuffed jalapenos & baked beans for dinner. The beans were amazing. Put them under the brats to soak up all that lovely pork fat & smoke. So glad Cindy finally relented and let us try it. She�s glad too!!

Enough of that. It�s too limiting.

I have actual pics of my bike ride Saturday, taken while I was in the saddle. I�ll crop & post them soon. It�s the only actual proof I have that I at least saw Batavia and was on a bike Saturday.

Zach got his job offer Friday. Not as much as he was hoping for, but everything is negotiable, right? He�s talking to the head of the local office today to see what they can work out. Even if they don�t increase the base salary, he�s still accepting the offer. Easier to find a new job when you already have one, or so the rumor goes. His start date will be June 11. He can�t wait. I predict that by the end of August he & Jill will be moving into their own apartment. I�m sure they want to get it done before Jill�s fall semester starts.

Cindy was unusually �up� this weekend. Could it have been because I actually had a few beers Friday night? Did that give her hope that alcohol wasn�t going to be permanently banned from the house? (I�ve never threatened that, by the way) Did my having a few beers make me look more human, or more approachable, as opposed to the version of me that can go weeks at a time with no beer or wine at all? I have no clue. I just rode the wave. Made for a much more pleasant weekend. Of course, going to an Al Anon meeting tonight may just burst that bubble, but I wasn�t the one sipping wine in the kitchen while at the same time working a beer or 3 out on the patio. (I also wasn�t the one that noticed that. Nope, not me.) (OK, I did notice it, but it was while cleaning up dishes after dinner. It wasn�t MY wine glass on the kitchen counter, and I certainly didn�t leave a 1/3 full bottle of wine in the rack we use to hold cooking stuff like EVOO, vegetable oil, balsamic vinegar and the peppermill.)

No I didn�t go looking for trouble like that, it just ran into me. So much for enjoying a beer after a long weekend of work. Wonder how much of it was an act for her father?

Enough of that. Meeting tonight might make me feel better. Besides, I think I�m accepting the group reps job for the Tuesday night group. That will mean at least one more meeting a month, plus convention attendance and other duties. I�ll try the job on for size for a little while and see how it goes.

Shed didn�t get painted this weekend, but at least it�s on the radar screen now. What with intentions having been declared and all, Cindy now knows it�s on the list of things to get to this summer. There�s not that much to do � it�s just kind of a pain. Maybe after the Tour in a couple of weeks things will settle down. It�s hard to accomplish much when 6 hours of the weekend is lost to training (and/or recovering from said training) for this tour.

Oh. While plotting my next training ride, I found a really nasty local route that someone has plotted. It�s a 55 mile route that starts in Canandaigua, basically does a lap of Canandaigua Lake and includes a drive by some of the local ski slopes. The total elevation change for the trip is in excess of 12,000 feet with a couple of climbs of over 1000 feet each. To compare, the ride I did Saturday had a total of 1100 feet of elevation change in roughly the same distance. That Canandaigua route encompasses as many of the area�s big hills as it can in one relatively short trip. If I ever get to feeling crazy, I may go try it sometime this summer. Maybe I�ll find Gary the sadistic bastard out there riding it too.

Gotta run. I�ll try and massage a few pictures of the ride tonight and get them posted. Might even through in a gratuitous shot of some random male taking a bath. It�s kind of exciting. Really.

ps - if you're reading - Happy Birthday Circe.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks