Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

81 and Done
2007-06-02, 2:35 p.m.

Day 1014

All I want to say for now is that 81 miles is done. Nearly 60 of it was done on the Tour de Cure course. Matter of fact, I spotted folks out spray painting route markers.

Overall, I think I feel about as whipped as I did last week after doing only 60. I think that�ll be ok. Total time in the saddle was 5:15, but time out on the course was closer to 6 hours even. Took a little rest stop before one of the larger hills, sat on a bridge overlooking the Genesee river at about mile 27. Had an apple & a big gulp of G@tor @de and hit the road again.

Took another break at mile 53ish, ran out of drink (3+ hours for 3 liters � a little high on consumption, but it was getting warm out) Restocked the G@tor @de and had a candy bar & another apple. After that it was the push home.

Biggest surprise? The hill leading up to the traffic circle in Avon. Not all that high, but wow, is it steep!! It kind of sneaks up on you too, so it�s hard to have any momentum built up. Next week that little gem will show up near mile 75 I think. Forewarned is forearmed.

Biggest thrill? I thought it was setting a new personal best speed record of 35.4mph down the hill into Piffard and the river flats just before my first break. But I was wrong. Much later on, I think it was coming out of Honeoye Falls, I got it up to 40.2 mph for an extended period (like 500 feet, in the compression area of the downhill). That�s a first for me on a bike. Most important lesson? Pedaling when you�re going that fast tends to de-stabilize you a bit. Luckily, the gyroscopic force generated by the wheels tends to want to keep you upright. That would be one butt ugly spill, hitting the pavement at 40 wearing nothing but shorts and a tank top (and a helmet, of course). Acres of road rash waiting to happen.

Most disgusting thing? Salt lines on my shirt. It looks like a chromatography experiment. You can see where the sweat progressed. Where it stopped is where the Bonneville Salt Flats begins. The corollary to that is the the fine �dust� on my face & arms? More salt crystals. Yeah, I know. Eeewww.

I�m gonna go take a nice cool shower, then go to Sams club and stock up on meat. Our freezer looks like it belongs in a vegetarians house, I have nothing out for dinner and it�s pushing 3pm. I better fly.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks