Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Very Close Call
2007-07-24, 5:07 p.m.

Day 1066

Had something different to whine about, but it escapes me at the moment. Hoping that if I keep typing something resembling a thought will fall into my head. Could be like trying to catch a neutrino though.

Why do I think that $0.99/lb nectarines are going to be any better than the $1.69/lb peaches? There�s a reason why the peaches cost more: they�re better. Man, I�m glad these nectarines are almost gone. Only 1 left in the basket at home. Maybe Jill will eat it.

Had a scare yesterday. Got home from work, noticed the computer screen was in it�s low power mode. That was ok. Went and unloaded my lunch bucket, sniffed around at what was possible for dinner. (Something chicken-y. At least, that�s what was out.) Went back out to the computer to check emails only to find that my email account was sitting there, open, All. Day. Long. Cindy had just left for an appointment with LA Weightloss (drunk btw), so it was unlikely she had seen anything. Still, my proof would be when she returned home. She�d either be normal (what ever THAT is) or she�d be gunning for my head.

The email account that was open I use for all my Al Anon correspondence, I have notes in there from Ms. CL, and I get the odd spam from the off shore ED pill peddlers, male enhancement crap. Since Al Anon is 84% female (true facts), there are a fair number of women�s names in my in-box. Nothing illicit, but still � to a mildly paranoid addict � fuel for the paranoia.

I am considering the fact that I survived till morning a sign that she never went to the computer yesterday afternoon, and has no idea of the gaffe I made. Oddly enough, I think I can be thankful she was more interested in getting some drinks down her gullet than checking her own email account and tripping across what I inadvertently left behind. This little lesson will hopefully teach me to stop checking my email while I brush my teeth in the morning. I�m sure I finished brushing, went to finish up in the powder room and never went back to close up my account. Just careless.

Did manage to get to the gym this morning, but I wonder why. Got there rather late, did an uninspired run. Went to log in my measly little run and found out my �coach� had my kewpie doll for attaining the next point level waiting for me at the desk. Cool. Got a nice golf umbrella for hitting 400,000 points in their system. In checking the stats, I see I�m the 9th person in our facility to get there. The leader? 800,000+ points. Some retired guy that must count walking to and from the parking lot as part of his workout. The big prize? At 999,999 points you get a fleece vest, all embroidered with the YMCA logo. Some incentive, eh? But think of how healthy all of us that get there will be!! (I will get there, it�ll just take me a few more years.)

As late as I was this morning, I neglected to get anything out for dinner tonight. So what�s the back up plan? Taco�s. Time to go shopping.

Alison � thanks millions. You�re invaluable, precious, and extremely insightful. Your Darling is one very lucky guy.

Gotta go.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks