Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The first step
2007-07-25, 8:07 p.m.

Day 1067 Addendum

Entering this without benefit of typing in word first, so 'scuse the higher than normal tipoe rate.

'Member I was fretting how to tell Cindy about the big conference in September. Well, I screwed up and relieved myself of that problem. I had some Al Anon business I was conducting last night at home. I left my folder of pertinent info on the hutch, meaning to take it with me this morning. I'm the first one out the door, no one would even know I left it there. (You can see where this is heading).

Yeah, I left it there this morning. Oops. Between the time Cindy got home from work and MY getting home, she read everything in there. Including the bit about registering for the conference, where and when the conference was, and what the hotel situation was.

The hotel situation is that you get a double room. I need to find a male room mate. Pretty sure that's all they'll allow, adults or not.

Cindy's questions tonight (asked from a drunken haze): So you going to a meeting in September?
My response: Uh, yeah.
Cindy: "Who you sleeping with there?"
Me: "I don't know, some other guy probably, or I have a room alone."
Cindy: "When were you going to tell me?"
Me: "Before September 12th" Conference starts the 14th)

Then she accused me of leaving the folder out on purpose, and asked me to not do it again.

But the single best development is that she spent 30 minutes before dinner on the computer. After dinner, she asked me to move the van so she could get her car out. When she left, I checked the browser history. She was cruising AA sites, looking for a meeting. Turns out there's one about a mile from here that meets 10 minutes after she left the house. Matter of fact, she's due back in 10 minutes, so I gotta run. Don;t anyone tell her I suspect where she went tonight, mkay?

ps - I know not to get all excited like a 4 year old going to see Dora the Explorer. This is one step in a long process. But at least it's been taken. For better or worse, things are in motion.

I gotta go call my sponsor and unplug a drain. Fun, huh?



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks