Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

A Funky Truce
2007-08-28, 5:31 p.m.

Day 1101

I stayed late at work last night, figuring Cindy would go to the gym, head for a meeting and finally roll in at home around 8:30. Offered to pick up a meal at @pplebees on my way home (Car side to go rules!!). Our email exchange got lost in the ether, so I called her around 5 to confirm.

She was unusually accommodating. She did, however, say she wasn�t doing either the gym or the meeting but instead would be stripping some border paper off of Zach�s former rooms walls and in general getting it ready to paint.

When I got home from work � dinner in tow � Cindy had tried to strip some of the border but made little progress. She also ran into some snags trying to remove the screws that mounted the blinds & curtain rods. Understandable. I made sure to bury those puppies in good solid wood.

What I didn�t understand was the slowness of her movements. Just not quite up to full speed. A little too careful with some movements, and there was that damnable sniffing. Another 2 day dry streak broken. Oh well. One more nail. How many nails does it take to secure the coffin lid on a marriage? There are days I think one would do it, other days it might take a hundred. More & more lately, that number is closer to one.

Jill was justifiably steamed about Cindy�s snooping. She did a great job of playing it down at the time, and has asked me to not bring it up with her. Which is fine � I have my own snooping incidents to deal with. I need to leave some obviously false, but very spicy �evidence� in my briefcase. For the shock value. Just to let her know I�m aware of her poking around. Plus I can�t resist the juvenile torture aspects of a prank like that.

Skipped the gym again this morning. Was supposed to be a running morning and I haven�t been very fond of those lately. My hamstrings are still feeling the effects of those cramps yesterday. All this bike riding has put me off the running too. But tomorrow morning is bike riding again � Pedaling with Patty even. A guaranteed can�t miss class. Maybe then I can ease back into the zone and get consistent again. Besides, I think I�m up a little weight wise and I�d rather not go back to tracking everything again. I�ll cut out what I know is bad (Hot Fudge Sundays with Spanish nuts, peanut butter & honey sammiches at 10pm, peanuts any old time at all, white chocolate Reese�s cups at the grocery store check out line � sensing a theme here?) and get back to some serious sweating. 185 by my birthday. Since none of you know when that is, I�m safe, right? We can just let the end dangle out there indeterminately, until I one day get back to 185. I remember when my target was 180, back in the active dieting days. Sheesh. Be tough to get there. All that weight lifting ya know. It�s bulked me up (cough, cough) SO much.

Oh - the truce part. Since last Friday evenings little discussion, Cindy has been pretty civil. It�s not like we�re upstairs doing stress tests on the mattress springs or anything (not even close), but she�s at least responding to questions, talking, actually offering information instead of making me forcibly drag it out of her. That�s been pleasant. It�s the part where she doesn�t understand that her continuing to sneak drinks is a problem. She apparently thinks I can�t tell. Heh.

Just talked to her on the phone. She was speaking Drunklish. Non-stop yakking. She�s in that mode where she Just. Can�t. Shut. Up. Offering up waaayyy too much information, slurring her speech, kind of in her �happy drunk� mode. She apparently thinks I can�t tell. Heh. Again.

I feel like skipping my meeting tonight and going to commiserate with Ms. CL. I know, I know � DANGER WILL ROBINSON!! But seriously, you have NO idea. Well, some (one) of you do, but for the most part? She can unload on me about her 8th grade educated, bigoted, ignorant, control freak, 3 pack a day smoking, truck driving soon to be ex, and I can whine about my FIL�s with Alzheimer�s and his drunk daughter. All while watching some gross movie like Saw III (which was excellent btw).

But. I�m thinking I need the meeting. Might even catch the girls up on what�s going on. At least as far as Cindy trying AA and slipping, slipping, slipping. I hope this one girl is there. She attends the same Friday AA meeting Cindy sometimes goes to. I�d love for my Al Anon friend to sort of take Cindy under her wing � with Cindy not knowing. Is that too controlling? You really think so? Guess I�ll stay out of it. My side of the street and all . . .

Ugh. I gotta head for home. Need to get border stripper (all the good strip joints are just over the border in Canada actually) (So I hear. I�ve never been to the Canadian Ballet) and milk. Quite the combo, eh?

Till next time.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks