Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Reconciliation, continued
2007-10-23, 1:16 p.m.

Day 1157

This early reconciliation business is like being on a honeymoon. Cindy is putting in an awesome effort. I can�t help but to match her effort. It�s really cool. We�re finding out that we still do like each other. Certain �aerobic activities� haven�t been spectacular, but they�ve been very intense, very earnest, and really all I was ever hoping for to begin with. I�m sure the spectacular ones will come along from time to time. You just can�t expect to hit every one out of the park. As long as there aren�t too many strike outs, things will be fine.

Ok, enough of that.

I really must thank everyone for the comments, notes, emails and general cheering up and coaching everyone has provided. Amongst all the stuff each of us goes through on a daily basis, it�s awful nice of y�all to drop a line every now & then. Does a heart good.

One comment I ought to address directly (okc) is that no, I don�t really expect Cindy to quit smoking immediately. The quitting drinking for now is tough enough, and if smoking offers some sort of crutch to fight the urge to have a drink, so be it. On top of quitting drinking, she�s also maintaining her diet and has dropped in excess of 30lbs in the last 6 months or so. At some point, she�ll be secure enough in her recovery to tackle the smoking. I hope. In some certain �aerobic activities�, it�s definitely a detraction. At around $6 a pack in these parts, it�s a savings of nearly $200 a month.

No gym this morning. See aerobic activities as described above. Not quite the same as 30 minutes on the treadmill, but it beats having a bowl of ice cream for breakfast. (Don�t ask. I have no idea what the hell that meant)

Have my regular Al Anon meeting tonight. I�m curious if Cindy is tempted to try the stunt she pulled last week? If for some reason she leaves the house before me tonight, you can bet I won�t be parking in the municipal lot. I�ve already scoped out a different place to park and think I can get to the church�s entrance without being easily seen from the street. Of course, I made all these plans last week, before things started to thaw out considerably. I really doubt I�ll have to execute Plan B. But it was fun working it out.

Also have that couples therapy session coming up tomorrow. I don�t think I�m anywhere near as anxious about this one. I even have my homework done already. Probably ought to review it a time or three, but at least I have something on paper. Wasn�t as tough to complete as I thought it would be. Then, after the couples session on Wednesday, I have my own regularly scheduled private session Thursday. I am really curious how that�s going to go. Seems that with us doing the couples thing most of my issues are being addressed. Wonder if Annette has other areas she thinks I need to tweak.

Todays lazy filler material is a meme I swiped from someone who swiped it from someone else who swiped it from, well you get the idea. If you really want to know where I came across it, ask me before I forget.

Here goes with 4 things:


4 Jobs I have had:
Cashier/stock boy/beer cooler wrangler at a Mom �n Pop grocery store
Medical Lab Tech in the Army
QA Tech for Clinical Blood Analyzers
Electrical Engineer (current)

4 Movies I love to watch over and over:
Braveheart
Crash (relatively new to me)
Not much else. Why watch the same old crap?

4 Places I have lived (for over 2 years at a wack):
Rochester, NY (Chili)
Ft. Lewis, Washington
Scottsville, NY
Rochester, NY (Gates)

4 TV shows I enjoy watching:
Survivor
Lost
Any Hockey Game
PBA/LPBA bowling (really!!)

4 Places I have been:
Western Europe (Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Luxembourg, France)
Toronto, Ottawa & Vancouver Canada (yeah, I know, that�s three cities, but it�s only one country!!)
Paradise, Wa (up the side of Mt. Ranier)
Paradise, Pa. (End of the Stroudsburg railroad)

As far as paradise goes � Washington wins.

4 Websites I visit daily:
Google News
Yahoo mail
Astronomy pic of the day
D-Land

4 Favorite Foods:
Gumbo
Jambalaya
Oatmeal Craisin/white chocolate chip cookies (recipe on the craisin package) They�re like crack!!
Peanuts

4 Places I would rather be:
In the mountains (Adirondacks would work)
The Washington coast
In my treestand, contemplating life while waiting for dinner to walk by
Not at work


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks