Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

SSDD
2007-11-08, 10:59 a.m.

Day 1173

Cindy went to the gym after work last night. Toting a drink, I think. The ginger ale status in the hutch had changed, leading me to believe she was trying the TUI (Treadmilling Under the Influence {�Circe}) dealie again. She wasn�t obnoxiously drunk, probably barely buzzed really, but it�s the hiding that�s bugging me. That�s an indicator that she�s aware that her drinking is wrong.

Lisele, I think you're right, at least that's the approach I plan on pitching. It seems to me that letting her think she's successfully hiding her drinking is a form of enabling. Calling her on it, calmly, openly, with a wee bit of compassion & understanding is likely to have a bigger impact than some big, ugly threatening rampage.

You're right about the quitting too. I quit smoking 10 or 12 times before it finally "took" - and that was with the help of a class, phone support from the instructor and 5 3lb bags of Sam's Club Trail mix.

What I need to remember is that my problem isn�t Cindy�s drinking, it�s how I react to and handle her drinking myself. Another part of it is if I am enabling her through my own actions (or lack thereof).

Anyhow.

Head session this afternoon (3pm), followed by bowling 4:45). It�ll be like getting therapy twice. Once for the head, once for the body. Maybe I�ll even have me a nice, tall Yeungling at bowling tonight too. Might even have time to sneak in a haircut between therapies.

Need that haircut for 2 reasons. First, it�s just getting a wee bit long. Seems to hold in the heat and sweat more in spin classes. Of course, less hair will just mean the sweat flows more freely, but maybe less heat will decrease the amount of sweat? One can hope.

Second reason is that we have a class reunion coming up. A high school class reunion. The organizing committee thought that perhaps scheduling it during Thanksgiving weekend might increase the attendance a bit, luring out-of-towners home for a visit with family. We�ll know soon enough if it works out that way. Last I heard, we had commitments from 56 of the 118 class members. For the record, this will be the 30th anniversary of our escaping the confines of good ol� WCCS. (It was actually in June, but what�s a few months after 30 years?)

Hmmm. I still have my yearbook. I should scan my senior picture and post it alongside something more recent. Scary thought, eh?

Going to limit this to a relative quickie today. Got some pressing matters to attend to, not the least of which are The Bob�s mental health status and some real, live, actual work stuff. My boss will be so proud!!


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks