Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

More Nothing
2007-11-14, 8:34 p.m.

Day 1179

More nothing is still nothing, right?

Still have gotten no response from Cindy from my bringing up her last string of drinking. Suppose that will come out today at our counseling session. I can�t wait. It�s only a few hours away, and I need to try and keep my mind on work till then. Good luck with that.

In spite of that little tension, we�re just cruising through the days here. These are the times that are dangerous though. Things appear to be going well, you let your guard down a bit then you do something stupid and lose what progress you�ve made. Forewarned is forearmed.

Man, this counseling session has me a bit anxious.

Decent Al Anon meeting last night. Couple of new people showed up for the 2nd week in a row. That�s always encouraging. Plus, I think they are younger than me even, so I don�t have to be the kid of the group anymore. In other Al Anon news, our area has been without a District Rep for 5 months now. It�s looking like I might be left leading the effort to find a replacement. So far, there seems to be little concerted effort by anyone to organize a meeting of the Group Reps (like supervisors, where District Reps are middle management) in order to elect a DR. The only reason I might be interested in leading the drive to fine a replacement is that I�m ineligible to become a DR. From what I�ve read, one must be a GR for 3 years before they�re eligible to take the DR post. I need to verify that, but in the mean time, I�m also trying to gather enough information to organize an election meeting. Ought to be a blast.

Just occurred to me I could contact some folks at the state level and see what they have on file. Hmmm.

Just got home from our joint counseling session. What a fun one that was. Cindy still seems to think that there�s some possibility that she can return to social drinking. She also only admitted to drinking one night last week, when I am sure there were 3 instances. I mentioned the one I was positive about (due to physical �tics� she has, and she admitted that one, finally) and mentioned another I was sure of (due to stumbling across ginger ale bottles when searching for M&M�s) the night prior. She wouldn�t fess up to that one. Had to let it go as it just wasn�t worth arguing about. Cindy knowing I can tell, even when she�s had only one, ought to either scare her straight, or make her try to hide it even more.

The other thing that came out of this session is that I obviously still have a few things to work on myself. Procrastinating, conflict avoidance (the two are sometimes intertwined), retreating behind walls instead of just saying what I feel (to avoid bad reactions mostly) � a few of the things I need to pay attention to. Communication skills are a common theme in man of my character deficiencies. Time to get to work.

Cindy is due home from her meeting at any minute. I�d better post & run, before I procrastinate on it.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks