Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Been There
2008-02-20, 11:53 a.m.

Day 1278

Easy day today. Saw this someplace else. Kinda liked the idea, so I�m shamefully stealing it. But to give credit where due, I got it from Scotty�s Place. One of these days, we�ll cross paths.

Lived (actually got mail there)

Rochester, NY (city proper, I was little then, so no mail � but for one cereal boxtop thing)
Rochester, NY (Chili � sorta the old homestead and current hunting grounds)
Ft. Leonard Wood, Mo. (middle of freakin nowhere � Army Boot Camp)
Ft. Sam Houston, Tx. (San Antonio � Med Lab Tech Training)
Ft. Lewis, Wa. (South of Tacoma, north of Olympia � permanent party station. I�d love to go back & visit, very pretty part of the country)
Madigan Army Med Center
Rochester, NY (Back to the homestead)
Greece, NY (Starting married life)
Scottsville, NY (first house, 11 years there)
Rochester, NY (Gates, current � 15 years now )

States visited

New York
Vermont
Pennsylvania
New Hampshire
Maine
Massachusetts
Connecticut
Rhode Island (almost funny if you know my last name)
New Jersey
Delaware
Maryland
Virginia
North Carolina
South Carolina
Georgia
Florida
West Virginia
Ohio
Kentucky
Indiana
Illinois
Missouri
Texas
Washington
Oregon
California
Idaho
Utah
Wyoming
Colorado

Idaho, Utah & Wyoming, Colorado were all encountered on my �Getting out of the army� road trip � a not so leisurely drive from Ft. Lewis to Denver. Some buds were having a unit reunion in Boulder and I helped a couple of gals drive there. I don�t think we actually saw the sun while in Idaho. It�s tough to do that in the wee hours. Sunrise happened as we neared Salt Lake. Cool view. No camera.

Countries visited:

Canada (Ontario countless times, BC once)
Netherlands (start of a high school trip)
Belgium (It was on the way from Netherlands to Germany. We stopped for lunch and saw some guvmint building in Brussels)
Germany (Rhine Valley - gorgeous)
Luxembourg (blew through on a bus)
France (Paris mostly. Rude people)


Adding schools I�ve attended

Ballantyne Rd. Grammar school (Chili) K � 3
TJ Connor Elementary 4 � 6 (Scottsville)
Wheatland-Chili High School 7 � 12 (Scottsville)
(all in the same school system. I had the pleasure of knowing most kids for all 13 years of my pre-college education)

Army schools � basic @ Ft. Leonard Wood, AIT at Ft. Sam Houston

Monroe Community College (AAS � Biomedical Engineering Tech)
Rochester Institute of Technology (BS Electrical Engineering � a sparky!)

So there�s my pedigree. Does very little (or a whole lot) to explain who or what I am. 41 years of my existence I�ve spent in only 3 houses. The other * cough * 8 years * cough * were my during my parents first few years of marriage, my Army experience, and my own first year of marriage. I guess that�s reasonably stable, looking back on it.

Speaking of stable, I gotta remember to get my mom a card. Friday would be my parents 50th anniversary. Dad�s been gone 14+ years now, but I know Friday will be tough on Mom. She�s kinda sorta dated a bit, but just can�t quite replace dear old Dad.

Oh � for the record, when speaking of towns around here, Chili is pronounced with long I�s � like �eye�. It comes from an old Masonic order, the Chiliast Masons. We even have a sister town, Chili Indiana. Don�t know if they got their name via the same source or not. I just see it posted here & there in town that they are our �sister city�.

(I just google mapped Chili, Indiana. It�s teeny. Not much bigger than the housing tract I live in. Their cemetery is � the size of the village area.)

During the local fire department carnival, we even have a Chili Chil�e� contest. Until the health board shut it down. Somehow it�s not safe to eat something your neighbor cooked. Apparently, if it�s not cooked under the watchful eye of the local health board, it could make you sick or even kill you. I don�t know how my neighbors are still alive without the health board supervising their kitchens. Geeze.

Big meeting with the lawyer dude tonight. Ought to be exciting. Not. I really don�t expect much from this. I imagine there isn�t much we can do without Bob�s say so � even if he can�t really form an original opinion any more. The PoA I have may be too limited to offer much of any protection. I�m still afraid that if Cindy�s brother gets a wild hair up his ass he could do an end run and strong arm Bob into signing a new PoA. Then it�ll be bye-bye to his financial security.

I guess my main point to Wayne (Cindy�s brother) ought to be this: If you can tell me the precise date of your dads passing, I�ll gladly split off half of what should be left of his estate for you. But until you can do that � these open ended loans are done. No more. You need money for your kids tuition? Get it the old fashioned way � Stafford & Parent Plus loans.

Better run. More crap in the compiler (work stuff � not a digestive thing, Dawn)


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks