Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Yeah, Sure.
2008-03-19, 4:49 p.m.

Day ummmm 1305? (and -06)

Almost done with the mudding of the walls. Didn�t get a lot done last night. By the time I got home form work (6 ish) and changed, got dinner & cleaned up, it was sliding past 7. I REALLY didn�t want to recreate the huge messes I made over the weekend. STILL all I can smell is joint compound.

So, I reluctantly went at the walls & ceiling with a large damp sponge. It doesn�t cut the high areas down like the drywall-mesh-sanding-stuff does, but it also doesn�t create clouds of white (stinky) dust. All that water IS a little rough on the hands though.

But. Of the 7 ceiling joints, 2 need a little touching up with just a light skim coat. The ceiling to wall corner joints? There�s a reason I was just gushing about them over the weekend. They really look pretty good. Need a couple little touch ups here & there. The walls themselves? Well, the 90% that will be covered by cabinets and/or tile are fine. Knocked down the sharpest edges and gave them my blessing. The 10% that�s exposed needs just a wee bit of fine tuning. Again, just a skim coat.

Wow. Hit a time warp. Started this yesterday (Tuesday). Here it is Wednesday now.

Touched up everything with a nice light skim coat last night. I think that takes care of maybe 75% of the stuff in the kitchen proper. Some of the work on doorways and adjoining walls is lagging a wee bit. The thrust is to be hanging cabinets this weekend so we can get some semblance of a kitchen back � plus call the countertop place and get that scheduled.

So. Tonight (being Wednesday and all) we paint. Or at least start painting. We�ll be priming everything that doesn�t move. I�d better stop and get some light plastic drop cloths for delicate things like table & chairs, existing cabinets, sinks � you know, stuff we don�t want white. Our almost nursery rhyme couple (Zach �n Jill) are coming over to help out too. With all of us painting, it should take approximately 17.4 milliseconds to do the whole thing � ceiling and all. Ok, maybe not milliseconds, but there isn�t that much to cover � 3 walls and a ceiling. Ceiling is about 300sqft, walls are another 450ish sqft and there�s the wood on the new slider to do too. But I�m not hanging cabinets on the slider, so I doubt it�ll get painted right away. (Plus that first step out the door is a doozy, I doubt it�ll get much use till I can toss in some steps.)

Got a new toy at work yesterday. Just to prove that they�re aware that we�re actually operating in the 21st century, management consented to getting us real machines. Real as in something that�s actually better than what we all have at home and won�t be completely obsolete by the time the IT guys have it set up. We ended up with some pretty sexed up HP laptops. Dual 2.4GHz Centrino processors, 3G of RAM, a reasonable hard drive, DVD RW/R drive, USB ports out the wazoo, wireless networking and Bluetooth connectivity. I already have my phone set up. Now I can transfer camera phone pictures and swap calendar info. Woo hoo.

I�ll probably spend the rest of the day wrestling with applications, making sure I have all my file shares re-connected, get VOB�s mounted and try to make sure I can do the things I need to do. Email & calendar functions are ok, most of the day to day office type stuff looks ok. I may have lucked into a version of Adobe Illustrator on top of all the other crap I get to use daily.

Ugh. Taking a break from wrestling with that damn new laptop. Got the wireless link working, now I�m trying to re-gain connectivity to all the &(*$^@$ data shares I need. I�d rather gouge my eyes out with a dull, dirty grapefruit spoon. But I think it works.

Now I just need the electrical schematic s/w guy to run a script or two.

My how time flies when you�re a working stiff!! Time to go home & paint.

If you�re not eating and have a strong stomach, go check this out.

I am never traveling in Asia.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks