Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Fun Stuff is Done
2008-03-31, 2:47 p.m.

Day 1318

Well, the cabinets are in, including that pesky east wall. Threw together a retrospective that you can find here . Pretty well commented and includes dates � more for my own use/info later on.

Now that we have the house to ourselves again, I can get into that little discussion I�ve wanted to have with Cindy. Saturday, after painting and light installation and general work area cleanup was completed, I went and cracked me open a Brooklyn Monster Ale. Wow. Label says it�s brewed in the old �Barleywine style�. I can vouch that it packs as much punch as wine. I had all of two of them and was snoring in the recliner by 9:30. Of course, without beer I can be snoring my 9:30 too, so maybe it wasn�t the monsters that did me in.

Before my snore fest, Cindy even asked what other kinds of beer were out in the garage (Eric stocked up on some Ukrainian varieties). That wasn�t so bad. She also asked me �Do you mind if I have one? I don�t want to make you mad or anything.� My only response to that was �I�m not your babysitter.� She ended up not having any beer. Can�t speak to any other beverages she may have spirited away. I�m thinking she was inquiring about the beer because her almost secret stash was depleted. Don�t know that for certain � I�m trying hard to not check on it.

Finally got back to spin class this morning. Now that the bulk of the FUN work in the kitchen is done, I can start thinking about getting my capacity built back up for the diabetes ride in June. Only 9 weeks to go and I need to get from a lazy two hour, 30 mile ride to a briskly paced 6 hour 100 mile ride. That really sets the stage for the summer too. Get the endurance all nice & built up for a relatively flat ride like the Tour de Cure, then I can get into some really interesting things like riding down to Jill�s parents (very hilly), maybe that Genesee River 2 day trip. If I get real brave I may try invading Peej�s neighborhood, or wander west towards Alison. Those are all multi day trips, but would be good test runs for that lap of Lake Ontario I want to try.

Here�s an epilogue of Paul Stockton�s LOL (Lake Ontario Lap) done in 2000. His route was 603 miles that he covered in 12 days. Looks like he spent a day touring Rochester (great taste!) too. I�ve read accounts of folks who have done this as a brevet, getting 6 hours of sleep a night and completing the lap in 3 days. That�s nuts. I think I�d aim for 7 or 8 days to do the lap. One of the nice things about trying the ride is that no matter where I am on the ride, I�m really no more than 6 hours from home by car. Push comes to shove, rescue in one day. What I really need to work on is finding some wacko that wants to do the ride with me. I�m sure it would be a lot more bearable with a riding companion. Couple years to plan & recruit. No rush. Yet. Still have to attend to all those pesky details.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks