Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Check it out
2008-04-03, 1:38 p.m.

Day 1321

Wegman�s

Started in what, 1916? Right in my hometown. Of course, we shop there. There are two stores within 4 miles of our house. Both kids worked in their warehouses. Zach even worked for their Chase Pitken home & garden store, then the Wegman�s grocery store in Dewitt when he was in school in Syracuse. (kolidge that is). The store has two slogans we hear ALL THE TIME. I�ll show you the slogans, then add what some of the locals have appended to them.

Slogan #1 �Every day, you get our best� Bend over, you�ll get the rest
Slogan #2 :Food you feel goods about� but your wallet feels bad about

Funny what you hear when you have a connection to the inner workings . . .

In semi-important news � I think my d-land associated email address has been hijacked. The y@who account I had it tied to got absolutely bombed with spam and mailer daemon messages starting around 6 EDT this morning. I think they only accessed the [email protected] and not my regular mail account. If you happen to get offers for little blue pills or Rolex watches from my private email � first, I apologize and second, would you let me know so I can delete that account and start over? I hate the thought of it, but I can�t help but think it may be necessary.

Many of the bounced messages I�ve seen had Cyrillic text in them and used the *.ru extension liberally. What is this, some extension of the cold war? How about a little d�tente or laissez faire? Feckers!! (Thanks for that word Peej)

Speaking of Peej, she related a while back abut how she managed to pay all her bills twice in one month, thanks to the magic of on-line banking. Well, I�ve now run into the (inverse, converse, contrapositive � pick one) of that. For the second time now, just when I thought I got a stack of bills paid, I find out I must have missed a crucial step in the process.

I�d been a little worried about the timing of a deposit and the arrival of two kinda sorta big checks I�d written � combined with the anticipated cashing of all those magical on-line bill paying transactions. So starting Monday, I�d been monitoring the checking account pretty religiously. Monday and Tuesday I was partially relieved that nothing had hit our bank yet. Wednesday I was stoked to see that the deposit I had made cleared and the two rather large checks I�d written also cleared (they were for kitchen things � what else?) What hadn�t cleared yet were any of the bills I�d paid. I was sure I�d had some sent out as early as Thursday, surely some of the local ones would have hit the bank?

So I went and looked at my bill pay history. Got a report for March. All the bills I thought I�d paid on the 26th? Bank never heard of such a thing. Absolutely NO RECORD of the events. So all those bills I thought would be paid on time by the 31st? Nah, not so much. Had to do them all over again last night. At least it was easier & quicker this time through. I also double checked to make sure they all showed u in my out basket. I triple checked this morning to make sure none of them mysteriously disappeared. Think my problem is that the first time through, I take too long and the system times out on me. It�s that or I just forget to hit the �confirm� button after I click on �Done�. I�m not even catholic. What do I need confirmation for?

Not much else happening. Training for the Tour de Cure will be starting in earnest. With the kitchen not hanging over my head like a 10 ton weight, I think I may resume Saturday morning spin classes. This week, just the 7:15 class. Sunday looks to be a nice day here in camp Rachacha, so maybe the first outdoor ride of the season is in store. I�m thinking the Gates/Churchville/Brockport loop would be a good start. Then next weekend? 7:15 spin class. Maybe hang in the studio with my MP3 player and spin the 45 minutes till the next class, then do that one too. Biking from 7:15 to 10:00. I could go nuts and ride my bike to the gym too. Then a little outdoor ride Sunday. There�s a local route I want to try that includes all the biggest hills in the area (all glacial leftovers � eskers?). If I�m really feeling good, maybe I�ll do it both directions. Got to go create the course first though. Map MY Ride � here I come.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks