Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Fake It Till You Make It
2008-05-14, 4:45 p.m.

Day 1360 Fake It Till You Make It

The title is an Al Anon saying. Sort of a way to talk yourself into hanging in there until you get stuff figured out. That�s sort of where I feel I am right now.

Sunday morning was a little tense. Still not sure why really. Sunday afternoon was much lighter in tone. I have my suspicions as to why, and of course, they involve ethanol. (My poor Otter Creek Stovepipe Porter!!) (It�s really, really dark, can you tell from the name?)

So Sunday I found myself running through a little litany of Al Anon sayings, trying to keep myself from getting all pissed off about the state of things. The day ended up turning out well enough. I don�t know how really. Don�t know what was bothering Cindy. Something set her off, she was on the verge of tears at several points. She didn�t say why, I didn�t ask. I think we each successfully swept what ever it was under the rug during the afternoon and proceeded to trash my back in the evening. (I really think it was the grouting though. I just can�t ever come to admit I could tweak my back doing that. Think of the ramifications!)

And my back is doing better. No ibuprofen crutches today. Still, it�s a good excuse to eye our mattress suspiciously and dream of getting a new one. If we ever FINALLY get The Bob�s estate ironed out, I think it�s a done deal. So is the roof, the driveway, a few school loans and a credit card or three.

NY Strips for dinner tonight. Grilled, of course. Also doing some steamed carrots w/dill, a humongous tossed salad and some brown rice concoction left over from last night.

Had the oddest thing happen this morning. I was getting ready to shave when I felt a not unfamiliar sensation in my right nostril. Tilted my head and looked and sure enough, I had a bloody nose starting. Nice one too. Had a hell of a time getting it to stop. Sort of had the problem of �geeze, feels like I gotta blow my nose� being juxtaposed with �geeze, I gotta stop the bleeding�. So I compromised. I did blow my nose, then paid the price with the bleeding. I know � not the smartest thing, but I guess you had to be there.

Hmmm � gotta go home & cook. Might update later. If not, I guess it�ll have to be tomorrow, but you won�t know that, will you?

Day 1361 Now You Know

Heh. Didn�t make it back to post anything last night. Bummed because I forgot to set the dvr to save Deadliest Catch at 9. Elated because TDC re-ran the 9pm episode at 11pm and I DID get that. Now I get to watch it while Cindy is out at her meeting tonight. Plus, I need to make it look like I got stuff done in the kitchen too. Things like installing some molding and sealing tiles.

Finally figured out the switchplate cover issue. Brushed copper. Looks exactly like the tiles behind the range. Perfectly understated too. Just have to shorten the screws so they fit flush. Or mark the hole placement on the tiles and drill clearance holes for the mounting screws. Either way, it�s more stuff to do.

Got tons done at work today. Fixed several problems, only to uncover at least two more. The good news? We know how to fix the two most recent problems. The scary part? What we�ll uncover next. Always an adventure.

Been swapping emails with Cindy. Looks like I may be unsupervised for an extended stretch this evening. Anyone want to come over and help with the moldings? I can offer you a free Monster Ale and maybe dinner, if you like what I might throw together. Don�t know what it�ll be yet though.

Ok. Apparently I have nothing substantial to say, so I�ll just go home and stop putting off the molding & toe kick jobs. Sheesh!


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks